Something for nearly everyone at The Writer’s Room.

It always pays to wander around the yard early in the morning. This Dragonfly was soaking up the sun to dry her wings.Dragonfly

I like to think he’s swearing to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but… you get the idea. Actually he’s probably scratching a tick in his armpit.Kangaroos

I dislike Plovers only because they have a bad habit of attacking everything within 200 metres of their nest. Although this chap stayed still long enough for the pic.Plover

This pair of Curlews played the old if we stand still and ignore the cameraman he’ll go away trick. It didn’t work. Taken in the sanctuary at Ipswich.Stone Curlews

I even walked around in front of them and they stared, although it’s a bit of a ticked off look.Stone Curlews

I like lizards, hmm, you may have guessed that already. Once again in the sanctuary, they’re a little hard to spot in the wild. I like his colouring.Eastern Water Dragon

Here’s another one taking a dip.Eastern Water Dragon

We stopped at Narda Lagoon in Laidley on the way home yesterday and I snapped this Water Hen taking a bath.Purple Water Hen

This is not the best shot I’ve taken but I like the way that the turtles are getting romantic, and the Egret’s eyeing off lunch. At Lake Apex. Those turtles really knew how to neck.Great Egret

We went to Ballina in northern New South Wales last week, before the cyclone hit back up in central Queensland. Boy didn’t it pour down at the beach, I waited until the storm passed and took this at Boulder Beach. Yes I climbed the hill struggling manfully using the monopod as a walking stick.Boulder Beach

Now for something completely different, a tattooed arm. No, it’s not mine it belongs to Phil, a friend. I played with shadow and contrast to highlight the tattoos.Tattoo

I’ve saved what I consider to be the best for last. Yes, it’s the same King Parrot from last week, he came back in the pouring rain to get a feed.King Parrot

I highly recommend that if you want to get the best view of these pics, especially the parrot that you open them in a new tab or window. He looks magnificent. Well, that’s your lot for the week and I hope you’ve enjoyed my offerings.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “Something for nearly everyone at The Writer’s Room.

  1. nataliescarberry

    There is indeed always something at the Writer’s Room and the best part is you and your comments and thoughts. Amazing photos again. You have such cool wildlife at your place. I just can’t imagine looking out the window and seeing a kangaroo. Thanks for sharing your photographic talent and your “beasties” with us. I pray all is well with you. I moving along on the road to recovery and am looking forward to that day. Love’n hugs, LMS 🙂❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m running out of titles LMS but I do like to provide a wide range of pics. I never tire of taking pics of the animals that I see around the place, flowers, insects etc. Yes, there’s nothing like waking up to a kangaroo eyeing you off through the window.🙂 I do hope you’re healing well and that you’re getting better every day.
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        Oh, I can’t even imagine opening my eyes to find a kangaroo staring back at my through the window. It would probably scare the hell out of me. I am healing well, Sir L. At least that’s what the guys in the know are telling me. Actually they say I’m way ahead of the game than most this early on or even later actually. But I think my age and the gray hair deludes them into thinking I’m an old fart that sits around most of the day doing nothing. But that’s SO
        WRONG. I’m an upward and onward kind of gal and seldom sit around doing nothing. Never have been. So it seems that is paying off for me now. They cranked the therapy up today and now I’m hurting, but I will get past that too in a day or two. Thanks for asking about it. I pray you have a great week. Much love and huge hugs, LMS 🙂❤

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Stayed in a motel many years ago next to an animal sanctuary, woke up to a Giraffe sticking it’s head through the back window. Great to see that you are healing well. You have a lot of people praying for you, I think that helps a great deal. I could never see you as an old fart LMS, a fiesty bird yes. Keep on with the therapy and remember, it’s only pain. 👼
        Love’n Huge Hugs
        Laurence.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m so glad that I’m able to share my pictures with you Sorella, it gives me great pleasure to know that people gain some measure of enjoyment from them. No need to be jealous, we all have our unique talents. I mean, I can’t make a decent pizza at all. -)
      Your
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  2. davidprosser

    Saving the best till last there Laurie. Such a fantastic bird who obviously knows the best hotel in town. All the photographs are stunning mate and your lizard is quite a looker. When I first saw the dragonfly, I honestly thought it was a gold broach or something. That was so well taken.
    All the best
    David
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Indeed I did David, it’s probably one of the best photos I’ve taken. Another pair turned up at the feeder this morning, we’re now a four start hotel. I had a view of the dragonfly from behind, like most shots but the side on was more interesting. Thanks for your kind comments David.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

