Almost a re-run at The Writer’s Room.

Almost a re-run, well I’ve put pics in of subjects from last week but you must admit they’re even better. First we have a view of what I think are the most beautiful private gardens I’ve seen in a long while. ‘Wayval’ is situated at Blenheim, about a 20 minute drive from us. Naturally I took a few photos and I’ll pop one a week in.Garden

Yes it rained, at last. Part of the front that came down from the cyclone and it gave us 100mm (4 inches) of very welcome rain.Storm

There’s a real problem here. Either the bird feeder is too high or the kangaroo is too short. Either way she isn’t getting any watermelon.Kangaroo

I returned to the bird hide at Lake Apex to see if I could get a shot of the fledglings. They weren’t there but this young pair of Egrets looked like they were waiting for lunch. Regurgitated fish, oh yum.Egrets

I really like the tips of this Butterfly’s antenna, they’re like little glow sticks.Butterfly

Yes, another Eastern Water dragon but isn’t he a handsome devil?Water Dragon

I know, another one. A darker coloured Water Dragon and he’s sunning himself by the sea at Ballina. They certainly are diverse.Water Dragon

I stopped by the Japanese Gardens in Queens Park, oh, that’s where the first dragon was and I noticed that the dragonflies were quite abundant. In the following pic I focused on the little bloke with the coloured wings, I didn’t notice the bigger one (out of focus) heading towards him.Dragonfly

Here he is in all his glory.Dragonfly

The male on the right is the same one from last week in the rain, he’s a bit of a guts sitting in the seed so his mate can’t get a decent feed.King Parrots

“Stop! Stop! He’s going to take our picture. C’mon you blokes, we’ll never be famous if you keep running away. C’mon.”Kangaroos

There we have it for another week. I like to be diverse but I really wanted to put these pics out there. I do hope you enjoy them and remember they look even better when opened in a new window or tab. Especially the dragonflies and butterfly. Until next week, take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mmmmmmmm

47 thoughts on “Almost a re-run at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Pingback: A Simple Fare: Grilled Pork Chops and Tin Foil Potatoes | Patrons of the Pit

  2. nataliescarberry

    Homerun is what I’d call it! Another gorgeous collection of photos, Sir L. I always look forward to what life looks like down under. My daughter and two of my grandchildren have been in Ecuador all week and won’t be home for another couple of days. They are on a mission trip there, and I understand it rains most of the time in Quito, the capital of Ecuador where they are. I pray your week is going well, my friend. I go to the doc tomorrow to get the staples remove from the surgery and maybe then I can finally take a shower! Cheers, love and hugs, LMS 🙂❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Homerun indeed LMS! Ecuador eh? They’ll know everything they need to know about rain by the time they come home.🙂 My week’s going okay, it’s been pain free actually and I’m pretty chuffed about that. I hope all goes well with your staple removal, ahh a shower now that’s going to be good.
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Patricia Salamone

    It is wonderful to be able to capture the beauty that Mother Nature supplies us. You are so gifted and do it so well. My grand daughter who just turned 8 also loves the photos of the wild life and often will draw them free hand. She is quite good at it if I do say so myself. She loves stuffed animals and I had to purchase a Roo for her with a little Joey in it’s pouch. Thank you for the inspiration you give her Fratello :o)…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It certainly is Sorella. Gifted? Well I wouldn’t mind being truly gifted but we won’t go there.🙂 I’m so happy your granddaughter appreciates my photos and draws them too. That’s wonderful. Tell me which ones she likes and I’ll convert them into pencil drawings and email them to you. That way you can print them out for her and she can also colour them in. You’re welcome Sorella, you’d better watch out, she’ll be after a koala next.

      Like

      Reply
  4. hitandrun1964

    The baby egrets are amazing. The birds are beautiful. The gardens…wow and no snow. I love the Kangaroos:) Another wonderful post. Thank you. I wish the kangaroo could have had some watermelon. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They are Gigi, I love their feathers, the way they stick up on their heads. I’m sure you’d appreciate the no snow aspect of the garden.🙂 Yes a little different with the roos this week. Personality plus.🙂 I’d never keep them away if they had the melon.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Owls and Orchids

    I have to agree that the beauty of your phtographes transports me to places I haven’t yet been. I’ll admit I use them in my meditations… helps with the I’m calm” …. many thanks dear friend. I hope you and Rel had a good time out phot “shopping”.
    Blessings, Susan,❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Well Susan I’m glad to see that your meditations are helped by my pics. I hope you get plenty of satisfaction out of them. Yes we enjoyed our day out, a hot one though. Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. kcg1974

    Beautiful photographs Laurie, each and every one! To think you live among such beauty of nature astounds me. The parrots are breathtaking in color, the gardens are ‘Eden’ itself, and well, I love them all!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. davidprosser

    Every one a winner Laurie. For a minute I thought that was your garden at the top and just hoped you had one of those ride-on mowers.
    The Egrets and the parrots are great, so that’s the birds out of the way in case you think I focus on them. Your close shots of the dragonflies and of the butterfly are stunning, and I agree about the antaen, antenn, stick things in it’s head.
    I like the dragons too but this week I shall say I really enjoy the roo pics.
    Cheers
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, yes it would be nice to have that garden. I have a zero-turn ride on mower for our place, I love it. Yes the roo pics were a little different this week. They showed more personality I think. Especially the wistful look on the roo with the melon. I’m glad you enjoyed the offerings.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Wordifull Melanie

    Lovely garden, butterflies, birdies and roos…what else do I need?🙂

    BUT I have to say the picture of the roo with the watermelon out of reach is really sad… I hope after you took the shot you went over and put some watermelon down for them! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Melanie, I cover all bases. yes even I felt for her pining after the watermelon. If I’d have given them some before you know it they’d be knocking on the front door wanting a frozen coke or something similar.🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

