Just scroll past the Spiders at The Writer’s Room.

This is part of a shed at WayVal gardens, Blenheim. I’ll show it whole next week.Wagon Wheel Vista

Still at Wayval, I love the entries into hidden gardens.WayVal Gardens

I’m not overly happy with the lighter part of this picture but I think it doesn’t matter too much. Taken at Picnic Point, Toowoomba. SPIDER ALERT NEXT PIC.Waterfall, Picnic Point

I walked face first into this little lady the other day while trimming behind the palm trees. It’s funny how you never forget all the Ninja movies you’ve ever seen as you wave your arms everywhere. I think it’s a memberย of the Agriope family of spiders. All that tangle of web in the left side picture is coming out of her abdomen. Hmm, it’s reminiscent of my attempts at fishing. I stopped looking at Google images to identify it after viewingย about a hundred different spiders. Nor could I get a shot of her face. Forgive me.Spiders

This is what you see when you walk through the entrance in the above pic at Wayval.WayVal gardens

I rattled off several shots of this swing ride whizzing around and couldn’t get over how happy the girl on the left looked. Pure enjoyment in the moment. I thought it looked better in monochrome.All the fun of the Fair.

Petunias in Toowoomba.Petunias

I know, another Egret. I was out on the front veranda the other morning when this egret paid a visit to the pond down from the house. It wandered in amongst the reeds then came running out. I didn’t know what it was chasing until I looked on the computer. Yes, there’s a Dragonfly heading into its mouth.Egret

Vanda orchids in somebody else’s garden.Vanda Orchid

It’s all about the hat. An eye catching trio at the Pittsworth show.Memphis Moovers

This little Joey gave me a few laughs with his antics on the front lawn. He’d run around, flop down, jump in the pouch or sit out and have a drink. Here he is taking a break after a quick drink of milk.Wallaby and Joey

Let’s see who can come up with the funniest comment by finishing the sentence, “I can’t seem to find my………..”Wallabies

There we have it for another week. I hope you’ve enjoyed the experience oh and you don’t have to open the spider pic in a new tab to see it better.๐Ÿ™‚
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

53 thoughts on “Just scroll past the Spiders at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Eli Pacheco

    What does it say about me that I looked past the big-hat trio and tried to read what was being served up at those food trucks, Fratello? Beautiful shots as always, especially the egret’s lunch. Well, maybe not for the dragonfly.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It says you’re a man who likes his food, an international connoisseur. Thanks Mate, yeah that dragonfly would be thinking, Hmm, a tunnel but no light at the end.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Wordifull Melanie

    Laurie,

    Every single shot is fabulous! Yes, even the spider (from far away)!

    The baby roo is stunningly adorable๐Ÿ˜€

    And for the caption…”โ€œI canโ€™t seem to find my camera…and just my luck that weird bloke is around again begging to have his picture takenโ€

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Melanie, I agree, spiders are fine from a distance. The baby is so photogenic, I sat there for quite a while watching him. Love the comment about the camera. Those pouches are big and boy don’t they stretch. You could hide a VHS video cam in one.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  3. Jane Dougherty

    I’ll join the chorus: gorgeous pics, Laurie! Baby roo is of course my favourite. Funny, all suggestions for finishing that line are printable. Must say I was surprised๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  4. Patricia Salamone

    Beautiful shots Fratello. Love the picnic photo, actually all of your photo’s are excellent. Spiders are not my forte, but I have to admit you do capture their beauty. All of your work portrays the beauty in your soul. Of course the Roos are my fav. of course and I know just what she is saying; :get out here and play it is a beautiful day.” Thanks for the beauty of the bounty for this week. Hugs.

    Sorella :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, I appreciate your kindness. Not everybody likes spiders, heck even I don’t.๐Ÿ™‚ “Get out and play,” sounds okay but there’s all that lovely milk on tap.
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    Oh my, but what a wonderful collection of photos and info this week. And ya know, I had one of those same spiders living in my yard all last summer. In fact she left an egg case full of babies I’m sure that I have been keeping at eye on all winter. Thanks for the treats tonight. What would life be without a roo or two and you! Love and hugs, LMS๐Ÿ™‚โคโคโค

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks LMS, those wolf spiders get around it seems, and leaving you a bag of babies. Aren’t you lucky.๐Ÿ˜‰ I agree, it wouldn’t be a good week without a roo or two. Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.

      Like

      Reply
  6. suzjones

    I can’t seem to find my phone lol
    I can’t believe my Mum didn’t let me know the Pittsworth Show was on. We might have gone up for a visit and a look around.๐Ÿ™‚
    Nice capture of the egret though. That was awesome timing.๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Found your phone yet? It wasn’t a bad little turnout at Pittsworth Suz, we arrived late on the last day to see a neighbours event. That egret ran out and I rolled off three shots and got that one in the middle.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Of course I did Teddy, just for you. She’s checking on Joey in her pouch. I have some cute pics of a little joey discovering his manly bits for the first time. I posted them last year sometime.๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Owls and Orchids

    Beautiful as always Laurie. It makes me feel like a drive to the range.
    Your challenge… I can’t seem to find bub, I know he’s in here somewhere.

    So jealous of all the places I should go to and don’t. Must do something about it… like writing. ๐Ÿ˜•

    Like

    Reply
  8. aurorajeanalexander

    These are so fantastic, Laurie. Each one is really special! I’m not the biggest spider fan, I have to admit, but I enjoyed the bird and of course the roos.๐Ÿ™‚
    My favorite is the orchid. It’s beautiful, simply stunning.

    And I’d like to finish your sentence: “… Master Card! I always put it at the same place – I hope it’s not been stolen.”๐Ÿ˜‰ LOL

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Aurora, I know I don’t please everyone with the spiders but they’re fascinating creatures.๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you liked the orchid (not mine) Great finish to the sentence btw, love it. It would be like a woman’s handbag in that pouch.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  9. doverwhitecliff

    Laurie, as always, your photos are astounding…and I get my weekly dose of roos…and spiders! Now that would make a really cool science fiction villain…arachnoroos! The could spin webs, bite, and then stand on one leg and kick you…

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  10. olganm

    Difficult to know which one I like the most. The girl is having the time of her life for sure. I love orchids and they are a fabulous colour. And the Joey…he’s so cute…Like David, I’d rather not try and come up with the caption for the last one…Happy weekend by the time you see the comment!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Come on Olga, you could have the wallaby saying anything, ‘Put your xbox away and get outside now Joey!’ I must admit it was a hard choice this week. I’m in Saturday mode already.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  11. davidprosser

    You do have some stunning scenery there Laurie. Wayval looks wonderful to visit Thanks for the alert up front, I was prepared. Is that one that could have done you some damage like 50%.of living things there-including the roos,
    The picture of the fairground ride shows one girl in absolute joy, but is she draining the other girl who doesn’t seem to be enjoying it at all?
    The joey has such a beautiful face, but all the pictures are fantastic. I refuse to be drawn on the last one though and will let you provide the missing line.
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      We certainly do David. Sadly it’s the last open garden there. The spider looks nasty and would only make you slightly unwell. There are several others that can make you really sick. The one that could give a fatal bite was the Funnel Web spider. There hasn’t been a fatality since an antivenin was developed. I think the other girl on the swing was more interested in hanging onto her flip flops, she wasn’t happy. Their faces are cute and usually stay that way. I thought maybe, ‘Oi, where the heck are my car keys?’
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

