Feel the Love at The Writer’s Room.

Good Morning. I’m a little late today, it’s been a busy week making a new garden at home and I’m knackered. This little beauty isn’t one of mine, I’ll have roses next year. It’s from WayVal Gardens.Rose

Another shot from the gardens. You’ll recognise the wagon wheel shot from last week. The only drawback for some of the shots here are the power lines running through it. What I like about this is the window at the back giving another framed view.Shed

Yes, another Egret. This is from a few weeks ago and I’m sure you’ll recognise the mating turtles. The Egret wasn’t impressed but I do love the way his wings are curving.Great Egret

The Love is being felt here, well I think he just snuck up on her, took her in a lovelock and said, “………………………” I’ll let my readers make a comment.Wallabies

We went visiting up near Caboolture last Friday and decided to come home the long way via, Woodford, Kilcoy and Esk. (There’s a shop at Woodford that have the BEST meat pies) This is looking back towards the end of Somerset Dam, not far outside of Kilcoy.Scenic view, Somerset Dam

Back at the gardens my ‘spotter’ the ever loving Lorelle, pointed out this Bumble Bee, doing what it does best, bumble.Bumble Bee

Just another pic of the gardens.WayVal Gardens

Nothing looks quite as miserable as a wet magpie.Magpie

The star of last week’s show is having his ears checked out by Mum.Wallaby and Joey

Yes, another frog. I found this little bloke (White’s Tree Frog) while moving the bromeliads up to the new garden. He’s about an inch long, he has a nice smile though. SPIDER ALERT for next picture.White's Tree Frog

I noticed the hole in the ground while mowing the other day. There are no shortages of these, they’re made byΒ Wolf Spiders. This hole is bigger than most, about an inch across. I waited until late afternoon and went back with my gear and placed the tripod over the hole. Picking up a long stalk of grass I slid it into the hole and Bam, the spider grabbed it and pulled back. I pulled the stalk up and this is what followed.Wolf Spider

Well that’s your lot for another week, I do hope you enjoy my offerings for another week. By the way, don’t be bashful with the loving wallaby comments, I like a good laugh.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

47 thoughts on “Feel the Love at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Jane Risdon

    Lovely photos and interesting snippets Laurie, but I do not like spiders. Fab photo, but it is a spider! The other photos I can linger on, but nope, I am itching all over now and just off to check under the sofa.πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Jane Risdon

        LOL what makes you think I don’t! We managed a musician once who sneaked tarantulas into his room – he was staying with us for a while – and had live crickets sent through the Post with which he fed them. I have seen them jump high and sideways and I know why I don’t like big fat hairy spiders…so I check; everywhere.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Jane Risdon

        Laurie, apparently one of Alice Cooper’s snakes disappeared down the loo never to be seen again and apparently could be running riot all over Birmingham UK – urban myth? No idea but I keep well away from Birmingham. Be just my luck to get comfortable and have the blighter decide to pop up for air!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Snakes will travel through drain pipes and sewage pipes. I doubt it would like the cold up in Birmingham though. I’ve heard of people sitting on the toilet and having a snake come up between their legs.😦

        Liked by 1 person

  2. kcg1974

    Laurie, these are fabulous shots, everyone. I could never choose a ‘favorite,’ for sure. Like you, I love the curve of the Egret’s wings. Is she about to take off or just landing? Didn’t see the turtles at first, but just adore them. We like to discover them with our grand-children when walking around ponds. They take such delight in discovering them!! Little frog is too, too precious and the flower with the bee is stunning. Oh, send them all to me!!!! πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Kim. No favourites because they’re all good? that’s what I like to hear.πŸ™‚ Yeas, the turtles were trying to keep a low profile. The egret was trying to scare the turtles off, the wing flapping didn’t work. I’ve found quite a few more frogs in the new garden, especially after watering. DOn’t know about the kids but I still get a little excited when things pop up out of the water.πŸ™‚
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Nicci

    Wow! Great shots! That frame within a frame is great. Thanks for pointing it out because I never would have noticed it, as lame as that is! The frog is unbelievable. What is the thing that looks like a gigantic black eye down in the right front? Wolf spiders are quite large, aren’t they?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia. The whole garden is designed to draw your eye to various features. The frog is down in between the fronds of a bromeliad plant. They trap water and the frogs like to hide in them. Wolf spiders seem to vary in size although this one was bigger than most.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. CaronAllanAuthor

    Fab wolf spider – but he doesn’t look happy! Gorgeous flowers and roos as ever. I was so surprised when we came to Aussie in 1997, to find that Magpies are not the same colour the world over. and during the first few days after our arrivals, in a unit in Indooroopilly, I spent a lot of time trying to find that guy who could only whistle the first two notes of a song, only to find out that was a bird too!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      No he’s not a happy spider Caron, it must have been because of the stalk of grass I kept poking down into his hole. I’d hate to be the insect that crawls near it.😦 I noticed when I went to Canada that their magpies are different, well they’re the same as the ones in the UK. The magpies give us a song when they come to the feeder, at least I like to think so. I had to chuckle at the image of you looking for the strange whistler.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  5. aurorajeanalexander

    What an amazing collection of pictures again, Laurie. You know I think you’re a great and gifted photographer. (Even if I’m not spider-fan number one). LOL
    I do love all your shots. But my favorite is the Egret and the mating turtles.πŸ™‚
    As for the adult roos: “Love is in the air… la-la-la-la-la-la-laaaaaaaa….”πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Aurora, yes I know you’re my greatest fan.πŸ™‚ I’ll have to find something creepier than spiders to put up for you. Yes, the egret has a certain background effect to the slooooooow mating. I had to laugh though, the male got too excited and fell into the lake. The adult roos? “Love is in the air and I’d better not turn round.”πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  6. olganm

    They are all amazing. The frog has the most beautiful colour (so do the flowers) and the spider is…superb (and I know quite a few people who’d run a mile if they saw it). Happy weekend Laurie!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga, frogs certainly have a beautiful green sheen to them. As Kermit said though, it’s hard being green.πŸ™‚ I’m happy with the spider, it was such a great subject. My weekend will be great once again Olga. Take care,
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    We have wolf spiders too. They have to go outside, whenever they get in. Too big to live in the house. The frog is adorable and I am so in love with the wet magpie. The mom and her baby are adorable and your flowers are a feast for the eyes, believe me. So much beauty where you live. Great post.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      We have a couple of Geckos in the house and they tend to keep the spider population down. I’m a big fan of frogs, as you may have guessed.πŸ™‚ I felt for the magpie, it was one wet day indeed. Yes, we’re lucky to be surrounded with such beauty.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Pagadan

    I love the rose, the framed garden shots, the egret with those curving wings, the White’s tree frog, and the wolf spider. I couldn’t quite tell, but does it have those beautiful iridescent eyes? I could pick them up–for moving them–without worrying about being bitten.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Joy, thanks so much. The spider’s eyes are reflecting the sky with me and the tripod in all 8 of them. They’re quite furry when you look at them close up.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  9. davidprosser

    I’m ignoring that last picture though I admit it’s a good shot. Your pics are stunning Laurie. The fantastic roses, the open flower with the bee, the unbeatable building where the cartwheel on the right frames the scene behind beautifully.the glorious looking gardens, the indignant magpie, the smiley frog, the ‘Oh they’re at it again ‘ egret and the rampant roos. All fantastic work.
    All the best Mate
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, I’m happy that you have gained some enjoyment here. I know the spiders aren’t everyone’s cup of tea but she is a beauty. It was a rush job this week too.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

