There are NO spiders at The Writer’s Room this week.

I thought that starting off with a Giraffe for a change might have you all thinking, Hmm, what’s next? Well as this weeks title says there are no spiders. Although I was tempted.๐Ÿ™‚ I took this with a point and shoot camera when weย visited Taronga park Zooย in Sydney several years ago. I took anything that looked like a zoo out of the pic and viola, Giraffe in strange setting.Sydney

Still at the zoo. The standing Meerkat reminds me of some backstreet hoodlum watching the world go by. I think the one lying down is the victim of a foul fart or similar.Meerkats

“Don’t go talking to me about Meerkats, always carrying on and chattering.” Says the Honey Bear. He has a certain attitude about him.Honey Bear

ย 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ย 

 

 

 

 

I always carry my camera, even when taking the rubbish down to the front gate. This new family of Wood Ducks were enjoying an early morning dip. There’s nothing cuter than ducklings.Wood Ducks

Yes I know, another frog. We were creating a new garden amongst the palms and as I looked up this little fellow was staring at me. Down tools, race inside and grab camera. He’s only tiny, about an inch long.Frog

I snapped this Bird of Paradise at a friends place straight after a shower of rain.Bird of Paradise

A Lillium from our own garden, for a change.Lilliiums

A Laelia Cattleya orchid. Surprise, surprise one of our own.Laelia Cattleya

“Just sit quietly and look cute Joey, he’ll never notice us checking out the plants.”Wallabies

Another view of Somerset Dam.Somerset Dam

Another aspect of Wayval Gardens that draws you towards the shed.Wayval gardens

This pair of males were having a fight, so when I looked over the hedge at them they stopped and gave me The Look. It’s one of those, “Not us, no sirreee we weren’t fighting. Must have been somebody else.” If you look closely at the Roo on the left you’ll see a couple of full ticks on his face.Kangaroos

That’s another week all done and dusted, it’s been another rush job. I must start the collection earlier I think. Until next week, take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

54 thoughts on “There are NO spiders at The Writer’s Room this week.

  1. kcg1974

    I miss the spiders, Lol! But, what a fantastic zoo!!! Love the giraffe’s head ‘peeking’ out to say, “Hello.” Gorgeous flowers, Laurie, especially the brilliant ‘Bird of Paradise.’ So fabulous. Precious pics of all the animals. Well done! Always a joy to see your new photos! Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: There are NO spiders at The Writer’s Room this week. | The Writers Desk

  3. hitandrun1964

    Wonderful, as always. The tiny frog is absolutely adorable. The flowers are so beautiful. Another great post. I truly look forward to each and every one.๐Ÿ™‚ The mom and joey were adorable:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. I saw an even smaller frog the other day while trimming branches, had to shoo him away as I was mulching. I’m so glad you like my work. Oh that mom and joey are camera hogs they’ve been hanging around all week. Remember the pic I put up last year of the wallaby with half an ear missing? Well she’s back and has a little joey.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That Giraffe is cute Joy. How big is your Bird of Paradise? I hadn’t been to the dam in a long while and didn’t even know there was a camping spot where I took the pic.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s good to see a dedicated spider girl amongst the ranks. Frogs and flowers eh? Well there’s no shortage of them Caron.๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll try to keep the aberrations to a minimum.

      Like

      Reply
  4. davidprosser

    Great pics as always Laurie. It looks like the meerkats are running a protection racket., you know, pay up and this won’t happen to you.
    I think the honey bear is about to make a championship dive but is wavering a bit.
    The mother and joey you’ve got spot on and the two males were probably just sparring before one of them has a crack at the title next week.
    Giraffe, fantastic, ducklings , brilliant, but the flowers are awesome.the lillium especially.You must have a stunning garden there.
    I hope you’re having a great week
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. That’s so funny about the protection racket, one on the ground just copped a kicking. Ouch. The bear was unsteady. I love when the mums and joeys pose, I take a lot of pictures of them. There’s always a contender for the prize fights. So all in all it ticked all the boxes.๐Ÿ™‚ Yes the garden is coming on, I’ve been slack. Yes the week’s going good, I’ve been busy today, late getting back to WP.
      Hugs Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. aurorajeanalexander

    OMG – It’s hard to pick my favorite Laurie. I love the birds of paradise plant of course, I adore the Meerkats – but you’re right – there’s nothing cuter than a duckling. I’m still smiling.
    Thanks for sharing this beautiful talent of yours!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga, I thought I should put some of our own flowers in.๐Ÿ™‚ I think the frogs are terrified when I point the camera at them. Or, if I stay still he’ll go away. I love the giraffe, it would make a great meme. A busy Friday in the yard today.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  6. Jane Risdon

    Phew, thanks goodness for that. I shall be away for a few days Laurie, so will catch up when I get back. Have a super weekend and keep well๐Ÿ™‚ Love this as usual….what is not to like? J x

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

