We’re all over the place at The Writer’s Room.

It’s been a busy week, we’re staying in town house sitting. So once again it’s been a rushed job getting the post up. Surprisingly enough we’re starting off with flowers in someone else’s garden. Hmm, that’s unusual.🙂 I like this pic, the first flower has opened and seems to be gesturing to the world.Flower

Wayval gardens once again, I took a few pictures there. I had to wonder how they kept up with all the hedge trimming for starters.Love shack

Definitely a face only a mother could love on this leaf Insect. He turned up while I was hedge trimming.Leaf Insect

Taken at Skinner’s beach near Ballina. This was in the lead up to the foul weather earlier this year.Skenner's Beach, ballina.

I need to put people in my posts, these ladies showed off their umbrellas at Wayval gardens.Umbrellas

I have to keep the Roo people happy, this is mum and joey from last week posing on the track down from the house.Wallabies

The things you see while gardening. I think these are some kind of fungi, they’re quite small and seem to have seeds in them.Fungus

Nikki, Kyle and Mackenzie at Narda Lagoon. Nikki.

I took this in 2005 on my little point and shoot camera. Where you may well ask? The Flinders’ Ranges in South Australia just outside of the national park. These ewes had been recently crutched. It’s a small pic, at the time SD cards were horribly expensive and I took the pics at around 200kb each. I’d love to go back now and really take some pictures.Flinder's Ranges

This is the top end of the national park, as the crow flies it’s about 1,700 miles to Darwin in the Northern Territory. Now that’s wide open spaces.Flinders Ranges

As you all know I live in the country yet I have to come to town to find a Kookaburra carrying his lunch. He sat quite happily on the telegraph pole outside the house. Of course my camera was in the car and I ran around like a scalded cat getting it out and set up. Nature at work and the poor skink paid the price for being prey.Kookaburra and Lizard

Another week is coming to an end and once again thanks for visiting the writer’s room. See you all next week.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

43 thoughts on “We’re all over the place at The Writer’s Room.

  1. liz blackmore

    Laurie, I have to agree with Patti, and Tami, too. You have grown as a photographer! You are getting crisper and able to capture intricate detail. I showed your blog to a young woman who has come to work with me. She is now homesick as she is an Australian native who recently married a Canadian. I think she is going to join your rank of followers. I can’t blame her. Just look at the project!! Hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Howdy stranger, how’s the wilds of Canada treating you? Thanks for the lovely compliments Liz, oh and I’ve missed you. I haven’t had a thing from you in ages. Thanks for sharing my work, nothing like some newbies to spoil and make homesick.🙂 Huge bear like hugs back at you Liz.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. patgarcia

    Hi,
    Your photography is increasing in depth, and especially in your wildlife pictures and your pictures of plant. The colors, a deep royal purple, in your first picture looks like velvet being displayed. Love it. It’s The only opened flower and it shouts out awakening.
    Great Job.
    Shalom,
    Patti

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Patricia Salamone

    As usual, your photo’s are stunning. Thanks for the Roo fix. I laughed at the picture of the sheep, they are mooning us. :o) Great job Fratello. Hope you Rel and everyone have a very Happy Easter. I hope you get some shots of the Easter Bunny leaving all the goodies.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, I appreciate that. Yes those sheep are a little obvious, all clipped, sort of like a Brazilian clip.🙂 I have to keep the Roo pics up, otherwise I’ll disappoint so many people. We’ve had a quiet Easter and eaten our chokkies.🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. davidprosser

    Some fantastic pictures again this week Laurie but you left me with a conundrum too.
    Firstly, I love the following, The joey and mum naturally. the brilliant lady’s umbrellas, the dlower and the well trimmed bushes at the gazebo. Nice to see the seashore, the sheep, the very strange fungi and the open road that goes on forever. How nice to meet your friends in a pose we’ve probably all been pictured in. The picture of the insect that reminds me of a leaf cutter is brilliantly done, really superb but at the end you gave me a bird. You know I love my birds and I actually think the kookaburra is pretty great. The problem is I like lizards too so am I just happy to see a great nature picture or sad that I see a great bird with a poor little lizard in it’s mouth?
    Hugs Mate
    Have a great week
    David

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks for the observations on the pics David, well detailed.🙂 Yes the Kookaburra is great and the shot with the lizard makes it even better. As you say the conundrum, the lizard is dying to make the shot for me. The flip side is the Kookaburra won’t starve to death. Would you believe that in my 54 years of living in Oz, that’s only the second time I’ve seen a Kookaburra with something in its beak.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    What a lovely assortment of great pics, Sir L! You are quite the photographer wherever you go and with whatever you have at hand to take photos with. My daughter’s name is Nikki. Is that a photo of family members? Cheers, hugs, and love, N 🙂❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much LMS. I try my best. Nikki worked for Lorelle years ago. She wanted me to take some pics of her and the children. Friends/family, sometimes there’s very little difference.
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, I’m fond of the sea and love to take pics of it. Aww, the poor insect. So cute, at least to its Mum.🙂 Crutching is the removal of wool from between a sheep’s legs and nether regions. It’s done to prevent the sheep from becoming fly blown. Because their poop can get caught in the wool it becomes a haven for blow flies who lay their eggs in it. Then the maggots take over. Yuk.

      Like

      Reply
  6. hitandrun1964

    You hit all the right buttons perfectly. Beautiful flowers, cute insect, Kangaroos, garden, lovely bird, poor lizard, wooly sheep and an open road. Tell me it’s not that desolate all the way, with just a gas station here and there. Wow. Is there a speed limit. I’ve been on roads without them and it’s so much fun putting the peddle to the metal. 🙂 Okay, the fungus is really weird. I thought they were tiny bowls with stones in them, so strange. Lovely family. Another beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That’s me, the right button hitter.😉 I’m so glad you enjoy them. Yes the desolation goes on but the scenery improves. There used to be an open speed limit in the Territory but too many people were dying after hitting camels, wild horses, kangaroos, cattle etc. Although your chances of getting booked are slim. Alice Springs is the third largest town in the Territory. Here’s a link that will give you a great overview of travelling in central Australia.
      http://www.travography.com/stuart_hwy/
      I find the fungus fascinating, they do look like stones. yes Nikki and children are lovely, I was taking some shots so she could give some photos as gifts.
      Thanks for your lovely comments.🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. olganm

    You can find great material for photos wherever you are. I hope you can go back to take more pics to South Australia and hope housesitting goes well. Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      One has to really look sometimes Olga but there’s always something to capture. South Oz may be on my to do list.🙂 House sitting complete and cleaned, plus their garden refurbished.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They’re beautiful Yvonne, it’s a long trip to get there but definitely worth it. I love the fact that the Kookaburra sat there for so long.🙂 Yes, I do my best to spoil you all.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Tami. I’m glad that my work has had that effect on you. No worries about using the pic, remember being small it may not look good stretched out on your screen.🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

