Some big skies at The Writer’s Room.

I figured it was about time I put a sunset picture up. Taken on Tuesday, I do like the lemon streaks.Lemon sunset

Probably one of the best pieces of street art I’ve seen in a long time. Snapped in Toowoomba.Elephant street art

Our garden for a change. This area of the backyard was overgrown with the wattles in the background and the River Oaks had branches coming out everywhere. So we relocated our orchids and bromeliads from their home of the last 10 years. I’ll show a pic of the Palm garden next week. As you can see, the wallaby in the background is seeing how much mischief he can get up to.garden

I took this with my point and shoot camera in Northern New South Wales several years ago. Sometimes you just have to stop the car and take the pic.storm cloud

Repeat after me: ‘She sells sea shells by the sea shore, if she sells sea shells how many shells did she sell?’ Or something like that. This lovely display is in Lorelle’s hairdressers salon.seashells

Just another day in the paddock, probably thinking about world domination, varying ideologies and the state of the economy.Kangaroos

Yes, it’s big sky country. Looked up from slaving in the yard on Wednesday and saw this lovely vista.sky

Another butterfly. I was taking a pic of something else and he was fluttering around then landed on the bench. I love the shape of his wings. He’s covered in pollen and by the state of his wings is old.Butterfly

This Cormorant has such a look on his face, one of those ho hum glares. I do like his eye though. Taken at a lovely park in Sherwood, Brisbane.Shag

Yes, these were up last week but I found a new batch so we get the before and after look. When the tops break open they pop those little seeds straight out. The blade of grass will give you some idea of the size of these things.fungi

Sorry! I could not resist this one. The look on Bruce’s face is priceless and the other one looks quite offended.Kangaroos

Another Friday another collection. I do hope you enjoyed this weeks offerings, so until next time take care and we’ll hopefully see you again in The Writer’s Room.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “Some big skies at The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia, yes there are times when you really have to stop.πŸ™‚ We’re shrinking the garden area a little and consolidating it around the house-pad. it’s enough to keep me out of trouble though.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The Frank Sinatra of the bird world.πŸ™‚ I know the kangaroos will always be a winner. I hope that even the ones with gassy tummies can be accepted. Believe me Gigi, I always look forward to posting them.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  1. suzjones

    That street art is really cool. And if the roos are discussing the state if the economy, they’d be there for a while. Actually, that’s probably what produced Bruce’s gas. lol

    Like

    Reply
  2. Patricia Salamone

    Boy, talk about wide open spaces Fratello. Beautiful vistas, love the shells I could almost hear the gentle tinkle as the breeze blows gently. Of course the Roos are great and I laughed at the look of the blue eyed bird. A pleasant visit Fratello, thank you.
    My regards to Rel, and by the way how is your son doing? I hope all has worked out well for him.

    Caio from your Sorella :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They certainly are wide open Sorella. I read what you said about the sound of the shells and thought I should do a recording. Then I realised that I’d have to tape the farting roos too.😦 Rel says Hi and my son has had some satisfaction. He’s now on disability payments and is a little better off than before thanks. I try to make the post peasant Sorella, get you comfortable and relaxed.
      Cheers from your Fratello.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Don’t you hate it when you have something that goes wrong, then someone puts a pic up of one that works??? Yes, that elephant is a real beauty Caron.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. nataliescarberry

    You sure do take some great photos, Sir L! And of course the roos are always fun to see and I’m sure the two that are chillin’ are thinking about world affairs. They just have that kind of befuddled look on their faces. Have a great weekend! Love’n hugs, LMS πŸ™‚β€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks LMS, you’re very kind. I often wonder what animals think about, especially when they have funny looks on their faces. My weekend will be awesome. I already have the cutest baby animal photo for next week’s blog.
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. aurorajeanalexander

    Stunning, your pictures, Laurie! I was carefully going through. (And I have to admit, I love the picture of your yard but it had taken me a moment to discover the wallaby)
    It was very hard to find my favorite picture. Of course I love the skies – and the street art – but I decided to go for “simple but beautiful” this week: my favorite is the butterfly.
    I love how you took the picture. Every details is so close, like I could touch it.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks AJ. Yeah, that sneaky wallaby, he’s been fighting just behind the garden. There’s something a little tragic about the butterfly, the magical transformation from caterpillar to a winged marvel, then in a few weeks their wings begin to shred. He had to keep landing, yet it still gives us great pleasure to view it. I made sure I snapped it right up close, just for you.πŸ˜‰
      Thanks so much for dropping in AJ.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. patgarcia

    Hi Bro,
    You’re good, simply good. I looked at these pics and looked intensely again. The soft hues of blue and yellow that lighten up the strong red tones in the clouds, the sun sneaking slowly away, unseen, but you know it is there somewhere in the background. It’s really good. I could go on and on. Each picture shows significant expressions of nature and in my opinion the pic with the cormorant, from expression, shows the laid-back acceptance of Mother Nature.
    Excellent. Keep growing, you’re found a new niche and it’s beautiful.
    Shalom,
    Patti

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Morning Sis, Thank you very much, I thought I should put a sunset back up. I do think if that cormorant was any more relaxed he’d fall off his branch. Then I spoil it all by posting a kangaroo with gas.πŸ™‚ I think the photos have actually taken over from the writing. Thanks for your beautiful insights.
      Cheers
      Bro.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

