Tanks for the memories at The Writer’s Room.

I had to jostle with other photographers to get a shot of the sunset at Cleveland Point last week. Sadly more clouds came in and blotted it out altogether.

Sunset @ Cleveland

A Dahlia at an open garden, situated at Logan Reserve Brisbane. I know, somebody else’s garden.

Dahlia

Sometimes Hump Day can be pretty ordinary. Taken down the road.

Camels

No it’s not Jurassic Park, just the same gardens where I took the Dahlia. I think it’s a great garden ornament.

Garden Ornament

They hold weddings here and this lane-way leads up to an open air chapel.

Love Heart walk

Ta-Dah! A miniature rose in my own garden. (Yes, I sprayed it with water)

Rose

Last year I posted a pic of this young lady, Half-Ear. Well she came back and showed us her first Joey. I used to chat to her when she came close to the house and I kept chatting when she showed up the other day.

Wallaby and Joey

The surprised look on my face is mainly due to the fact that I suddenly realised I used to be able to leap into one of these things. It’s a Saladin Armoured Car and I trained as a gunner on them. This one is on display in the Transport Museum in Gatton. When I found out I hot-footed it over there to snap a few pics. Follow the link to see me back in the day.

Saladin Armoured Car

I took this from the cliffs at Kangaroo Point, it looks over the river to the city of Brisbane. My first attempt at a cityscape night shot.

Brisbane Skyline

Still at Gatton, this General Grant tank is stuck outside. I read an interesting snippet about them. After 1942 the Americans passed them onto the Russians. They referred to them as a coffin for seven brothers.

Grant Tank

It’s ANZAC Day tomorrow. I took this at Gatton and thought it appropriate for remembering the day.

Remembrance

Another week over and hopefully some enjoyment from my offerings. As always there’s diversity and humour, I think.πŸ™‚ So until next time, take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

47 thoughts on “Tanks for the memories at The Writer’s Room.

  1. liz blackmore

    Well I had to chuckle at the linked photo! (Sorry!) Weren’t you all that and more! (OK, you still have the charisma!) Great job Laurie! I am so happy that half ear came back to talk with you and show her new babe off.
    Thank you for the continuing photo log!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Liz, how’s the truckin’ life going? When I did have it, didn’t know what I was doing. Now I know what I’m doing, it’s a little bit late.πŸ˜‰ Yes it’s nice to see old friends come back, people and roos. Half-ear is a real sweetie, she just sits there and eats while I chat on, from a distance of course. I enjoy posting the photos, it keeps me out of trouble.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      There’re a few damaged critters that get around but they don’t last long in the wild. Although half-ear’s problem is cosmetic. I’m very happy with the night shot myself.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. yeah, I’d hate to get my ear chewed off. Right now we have two low pressure systems bearing down, bringing a lot of rain. We have the fire going.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The camels came here in the early 1800’s. Explorers used them for traversing the continent. Afghani’s brought them out and used them for transporting goods. Now we have the purest breed in the world, even the Arabs buy them from here.
      That was a friendly gesture, ouch. Glad you liked the sunset, I sat there long enough waiting foe it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Nicci

    The rose is so pretty. The joey is adorable!! That tank looks uncomfortable. The painting with the red is great, very powerful. And I love the city shot. Pretty darned good first try! Off to see the back in the day photo.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. aurorajeanalexander

    It was such a pleasure to see this past weeks pictures. I just love your photo series. Still looking great, Laurie!! I picked my favorite – and yes… not hard to guess. It’s the one showing you!
    Right behind it – it’s the rose.πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Owls and Orchids

    Always an interesting spread of photos Laurie…you really put me to shame. Been thinking of you with all the reports about ANZAC Day. Always makes me feel so sad that I’m beginning to think I might have to escape some of the shows – the physical pain is getting so much stronger. Sounds crazy but I know you’ll understand.
    I’m so grateful you came home…there isn’t anything more needs saying.
    God bless you my friend.
    Blessings, Susan πŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Susan, i try to put out a variety each week. It’s nice to have someone else think of me. It was a pretty good day today, no complaints except the horse wanted to kiss me. Not good about your pain girl. Thanks for the gratitude, at this stage in life I’m glad i came back also. Blessings back at you. take care.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    Diversity, humor, and a real live photo of Sir Laurence! It doesn’t get any better than that! No matter who the Dahlia belonged to, it was beautiful and your photo of it was great. Is the mama roo missing half her ear or is it just folded over? The photo of her and her baby was a very good one. But then your photos are always good. So “tank” for all the memories and such, Laurie. Love’n hugs, NπŸ™‚β€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      What more can a girl ask for?πŸ™‚ We actually bought that dahlia today and planted it. Mama roo I believe, would have lost that ear to a wild dog. It can be rough out there for them. She always hangs around when her mob turn up, so I talk to her, she must be used to my voice. I made sure to get a good shot, roo portraits.πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for your compliments.
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.❀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        They run in packs of around six or seven, cut out a wallaby, grab it by an ear or limb and pull it down. Half-ear is a lucky girl. The dogs are usually domestic dogs gone wild, dumped by their owners. Then they breed with the Dingoes . I always have a chat with her. Hugs.❀

        Liked by 1 person

  6. davidprosser

    Shame about the unhelpful clouds Laurie but even so it wasn’t too bad. The others were up to your usual high standards but the first time ever night shot was stunning.
    Love the free range camels and the proud mum showing you her joey. I hope she’s not suggesting you’re the father.
    The dahlia and your rose are really nice pictures and would be great as cards The tanks must have brought back some memories.
    The picture (is it on a rug?) is really poignant. Have a good ANZAC day, and my thanks to all who have served in defence of the Commonwealth. Good men all.
    Please take care
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I was going for the shady, silhouette look David but some colour in the sunset would have been better. I’m very pleased with the night shot.😁 The camels were right on top of the hill this morning. Fortunately my relationship with half-early was purely platonic. Yes I was quite chuffed to get up close with a Saladin again. The last pic is on glass, it was the only angle I could snap it on. Thanks David, ANZAC day will be early and long. Care being taken.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron, I’ll have to sign him up as a model.πŸ˜‰ I’m glad you like them. I was hounded by seagulls for the first one, and it took two trips around the block to find a parking spot. Ohh, the pain. πŸ˜›

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

