sunrise

Fire in the sky at The Writer’s Room.

Let’s get the sneering Camel out of the way first. The little family of three were standing by the gateway on a property down the road. Naturally I pulled up to take a few snaps, so what did the camels do? Turned around and walked away. This one stopped and gave me ‘The Look.’

Camel

The last view of the walkway from Jonica gardens. The statue is of a girl reading a book.

pathway

Seeing that the full moon woke me up I thought I should go outside and take a picture. Now I wasn’t after an astronomical, look at the surface of the moon shot. I wanted this surreal, fading sun look, casting shadows through the trees.

moonlight

A delightful set of Gerberas at ‘Viola’s Patch’ gardens.

Gerbera

This little lady hasn’t been hurt, I’d say the blood is from a burst tick that she’s scratched.

kangaroo

I snapped these Rainbow Lorikeets at ‘Violet’s Patch’ garden.

Rainbow LorikeetSome of you may have seen the rose after this one on twitter last week, hey it was a wet day, I had to do something. Well this is the same rose, I snapped it with the only light source coming from the window.

Rose

I lit this one with a light coming from above and to the right.

Rose

You would have noticed that I take more sunsets than sunrises. So when you hear the words ‘It looks like a fire,’ you tend to drag yourself out of bed and see what all the fuss is about. Of course the first thing I see is this view at the front of the house. Nice.

clouds

Then I go outside and see this over the back of the back. ‘Yes Darling, it does look like a fire.’

sunrise

So there we have it for another week. I do hope you’ve enjoyed this weeks offerings. Remember, there’s always something to see here at The Writer’s Room.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

46 thoughts on “Fire in the sky at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Pingback: Sunrise, Sunset | freethoughtandmetaphor

  2. teagan geneviene

    Hi Laurie. Wow… the sky really was ablaze with color; amazing. I’m just as fascinated by the brightness of that moon. No wonder it woke you. Thanks for sharing another wonderful collection of photos. Huge hugs! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You don’t see a lot of sunrises like that teagan, I’m glad I dragged myself out of bed. There certainly was some light from the moon, at least it gave me the desired effect. Thanks for dropping by.
      Even bigger Hugs
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Jane Dougherty

    Oh wow, Laurieβ€”these are stunning! I especially love the moon picture. You are so lucky to be surrounded by so much beauty. You have to really like stray tom cats and roof tiles round here.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank so much Jane. Yes I was up early for that moon pic, it kept shining through my bedroom window.πŸ™‚ Tiles and Tom cats eh? Not very inspirational at all is it?

      Like

      Reply
  4. davidprosser

    I have to start by saying the lorikeets are spectacular. Since you know I like birds that’s only to be expected.You have a real knack with then animals even if it’s only to get them to give you ‘The Look’. The flowers are great as is the picture in the gardens but you really outdid yourself with Sunrise and Sunset. ( I’m sure I should cue a song a that point).
    A great post thanks Mate.
    Hope you’re both OK.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. I crept closer and closer to get that shot, it’s a good job they’re real fond of their food.πŸ™‚ I speak to the animals while I’m snapping, it get’s them looking at me. I’m very happy with the sunrise too, it’s a real burner.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga, yes that fiery sky is special. Yes I wanted that surreal, dying sun look for the moon. Glad you enjoyed the offerings. Cheers.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  5. Susan Wingate

    Oh my heavens, Slick. You are such a natural photog. Amazing images… so evocative. And a camel, to boot!? Of course, guess which is my fave? It starts with R and ends with OO.πŸ™‚ Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

