It’s a little prickly at The Writer’s Room.

Another Gerbera but oh my what a beauty. Nature never ceases to amaze me with its colour, beauty and form.

Gerbera

For those who feel threatened by other traffic on the freeways, buy a Ford V8. A Dingo Scout Car to be exact. In Australia at the start of WW2 armoured vehicles were in short supply, so someone came up with this. it ended up being used to train crewman. I think it’s a rather nifty machine.

Dingo scout car

A view of a picnic area at Wivenhoe Dam, the major water supply for Brisbane and surrounding areas. I do like the blues in this.

Wivenhoe Dam

Yes, another rose from our new garden. This is Maria Callas, what a star performer.

Rose Maria Callas

One of the many topiary displays in Laurel Bank park, Toowoomba. About half an acre of this park was designed for the blind. Scented gardens, sculptures etc. This place is on my to do list come spring.

Park Toowoomba

This flock of Pelicans were resting in Lake Wivenhoe, doing what they do best, grooming.πŸ™‚

Pelicans at Wivenhoe

We went up to Mt Cootha for Mothers Day lunch, so naturally I took a few snaps of the Brisbane skyline. This is definitely worth a visit at night.

Brisbane City

Yes I left the pic au natural. Young Roopert had been happily drinking his milk when Mister Smooth hopped up and intimated that he was up for a little loving. That is a nipple hanging out of Mum’s pouch and I don’t need to explain what else is hanging out.

Wallabies

A Rainbow Lorikeet slurping on nectar at laurel bank park.

Rainbow Lorikeet

I looked out of the window the other day and saw a brown blob waddling away from the pond. My first thought, get my glasses checked, then, ‘Yikes, it’s an Echidna.’ Mad scramble for camera, it was still in the bag, then run across to the side fence to head him off. Now these little blokes can really get a move on. I took a few snaps but wasn’t happy with them. So I did a David Attenborough and flopped belly down on the grass. Thinking I was a log, or perhaps an old Geezer with a camera he kept coming. Checkout the determined look on his little face. He passed the lens and disappeared from view. I rolled on my side and there he was, nestled up against my belly. Leaping up, well struggling to get up I took the bottom picture. Yes, he’d rolled up into his defensive position. Let’s face it no one and I mean no one is going to bother him.

Echidna

 

Echidna

Well that’s your lot for another week, I hope you enjoy viewing them as much as I do taking them.
Cheers
Laurie.

45 thoughts on “It’s a little prickly at The Writer’s Room.

  1. teagan geneviene

    What a wonderful collection of photos, Laurie. I didn’t think anything could be cuter than the topiary ducks (chickens? i think they’re ducks…) and then you gave us the echidna! Absolutely delightful. Huge hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. aurorajeanalexander

    What a beautiful collection of pictures again, Laurie. You won’t be surprised that I love the flowers – as well the Gerbera as also the rose, of course. But I know you’ll understand I just made the Echidna my favorite this week. He’s such a cute animal. Thanks for sharing the story – and his picture.πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks AJ. I’m not surprised, the flowers are dynamic. The Echidna is hard not to like, he bothers nobody and does a public service by eating termites. Remember it’s always cute at the writer’s room.πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. suzjones

    We had an echidna in our garden a year or so ago. He was only a puggle though. Took it to the vet to make sure it was ok and then brought him/her home and back into the garden where it happily stayed for a good week or so. Love your photos once again Laurie.πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They’re wonderful creatures Suz, and don’t you just love the name, Puggle. I think this one lives in the paddock nest door, it’s pretty overgrown so I think he’s happy there. Thanks for the appreciation Suz.πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Nicci

    That’s so funny the Echidna curled up with you! That story is a hoot. What a spectacular group, Laurie, with all the exuberance of your stories helping showcase the craziness and beauty of nature. The tank car is great. It’s kind of cute. The rose and gerbera daisy are amazing. The rose is quite extraordinary. What a great name for it, Maria Callas!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I like to add a few words to my pictures Nia, although they can speak for themselves sometimes you need a little background. Especially when Echidnas cuddle up to you. I’m so glad you enjoyed my offerings. Maria was a beautiful woman and a great opera singer.πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. kcg1974

    Laurie, what can I say? Your photographs are so varied with each and everyone spectacular in their own right. The pink rose took my breath away….Literally!!! The shots of the animals, your city photos, the gardens—-Wow! I would love to be behind your lens one day. TO have ‘your’ eye….Thank you so much for sharing with us what we otherwise may never, ever see. A true blessing for us.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you so much Kim, I really appreciate that. I like to take the time to get the shot right, unless it’s running.πŸ™‚ Then you’d bee right behind me. I love sharing the things I see, especially the animals. Cheers, Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. nataliescarberry

    What a stunning Gerbera, and I love that little armored vehicle. And prickly, oh my that guy ever prickly!!! Yet another stellar batch of photos and I loved your commentary as usual. Hugs and love, NπŸ™‚β€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It certainly is LMS, I could see you driving around the Lone Star state in one of them.😁 They don’t come any pricklier than an Echidna. Thanks for the stellar reply. Love’n Hugs,
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        Ooooh, yes, Sir L, that would be a great vehicle to drive out and about the country side. I’d be safe from rattle snakes and prickly pear cactus and all sorts of nasties. You made me chuckle with the “stellar reply” comment. πŸ™‚β€

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Wordifull Melanie

    Beautiful Gerbera and lovely shot of the loorikeetπŸ™‚

    I’ve never heard of nor seen an echidna…very cool! You were brave (or silly?) to be trying to roll around on the ground with him! I can’t stop imagining you running and taking a sliding belly flop across the ground! LOLOL

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Melanie. It’s good to get a shot of a bird feeding naturally, got a crick in my neck waiting for him to get to that flower. πŸ™‚ It’s worth going to Wiki to read about the Echidna, they’re so unique. Thy’re not exactly savage so getting on the ground was a good thing, although he had that Mister Magoo look about him as he waddled towards me. it was more like trot to tree, stop, flop to ground and hope there wasn’t any roo poo there. getting back up was harder.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. Wordifull Melanie

        I did just that! According to Wiki the spineless babies are called puggles. How cute is that?!

        Also, disturbingly learned that the male’s *ahem* special appendage has spines as well! OW!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It doesn’t come much cuter than a puggle.πŸ˜ƒ The Echidna’s sex life makes 50 Shades look boring. One would only hope that those spines are not prickly.😨

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They’re a unique creature Olga, the males are lucky they have four penises. Sadly they can only use two at once.πŸ™‚ Believe it or not I was going for that look in the pelican shot. The water looked diamond encrusted.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron, they’re an exceptionally beautiful flower. How lucky was that? I was chuffed! Don’t worry Mt Cootha is still a popular spot and the ice cream is still good.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

