Same old stuff at The Writer’s Room.

Same old stuff I know, at least it gets me out of bed some mornings. Another sunrise although this isn’t as fiery as my previous one.

SUnrise

A rather interesting mailbox. At least the house wouldn’t be hard to find. This is around the corner from last weeks Stegosaurus.

Mail Box

Happiness is a topiary train in Toowoomba. Go Thomas the Tank Engine. It’s pretty cool actually, each carriage has a park bench.

Thomas the Tank Engine

Ho hum, another rose, Blue Moon.

Rose Blue Moon

Believe it of not flies are easier to photograph than bees.

Fly

Then there is this moth, a flighty little blighter, I followed him around the garden until he landed on a small Buddha statue.

Moth

At least this Caterpillar stayed still long enough.๐Ÿ™‚ taken at the truck show. I like the old grunge look of this beast.

Caterpillar dozer

More detail on the truck from last week, this piece of the mural is situated on the large plate that connects the prime mover (tractor) to the trailer.

truck art

Thought I’d give this a splash of tungsten, it certainly highlights the whole scene.

truck art

Some sad news here with Half Ear, she turned up a couple of days ago without her joey. I scanned the mob she was with but there was no sign of the little bloke.

wallaby

There is always a Galah or two around the place to brighten things up though. This pair gave me the look when I stepped out to snap them. The order of attendance of a morning now is: Magpies, King Parrots, Galahs, Rainbow Lorikeets, Mynah Birds, a pair of Doves and some ducks call in when the rest have gone and clean up around the feeder. Thankfully they don’t all turn up at once.

Galahs

Another week is nearly over but I’m sure there’ll still be something to take a snap of here at the writer’s room. Until next time,
Cheers
Laurie.

 

58 thoughts on “Same old stuff at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Pingback: Five Photos Five Stories Challenge: Day One. | Jane Dougherty Writes

  2. Wordifull Melanie

    Oh yes, ho hum…indeed.

    You are kidding right? I’m always amazed and delighted by your offerings. I guess we are all guilty of taking for granted the beauty around us…things become commonplace. But your world is beautiful to me๐Ÿ™‚ And that rose is Exquisite!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It feels ho hum sometimes Melanie. I’m glad you like them though. We probably do see our surroundings as ordinary after a while. I agree about the rose.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  3. johnandmarylivingitupinecuador

    Laurie – I am so glad we found your blog. I spent a few years in Australia in 1971 and 72, but I was down in Victoria and Tasmania mostly. I love the galahs, but I always heard them referred to as, “dumb galahs” in Australia. It is quite impressive to see a large flock of them flying noisily in for a landing.

    I too am a retired law enforcement officer so I believe we share a lot in common. I look forward to following your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi John, here I am. So you were here in the good old days then. Visiting or working here? Yes, the term galah is also reserved for those who do stupid things, so it’s ‘You’re a stupid bloody galah mate.’ They do get around in big flocks. When they are wandering around on roads they’ll fly up, around and invariably fly straight into the front of your car.. So where did you work in LEA John. I’ve been over to your site tonight and commented.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Did the hard yards then John. You’d have to enjoy retirement after all that. Considering the many places in the world, why did you settle on Ecuador?

        Like

  4. nataliescarberry

    Whatever the “stuff” is at the writer’s room, it’s always beautiful and interesting to see and read your commentary. So it’s not “stuff” but a lovely treat from a lovely man! Love those Galahs and your opening photo is fantastic, but then all of them were great. It’s alway so hard to pick favorites on your blog, Sir L. Hugs and love, N๐Ÿ™‚โค

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Eli Pacheco

    I forgot to go nuts over the stegosaur last week, Laurence. What was I thinking? I love the mailbox, and wonder if you’ve ever heard of something called an Australian lyre bird?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I know you did, two demerit points. it’s a great mailbox, I must photograph more of them. Yes I have heard of the Lyre bird. they mimic everything they hear. haven’t seen one though.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. olganm

    Sad about the joey. Beautiful picks. This sunrise looks textured….the clouds look as if they had been painted. I agree that the rose is fabulous and the moth has great colours too. I wonder if the birds have discussed an agreed their rota. I don’t have that much variety of species in my garden but they all seem to turn ups whenever mostly at the same time (magpies have become very common, a black bird… There’s always a robin going around, wild pigeons… Sparrows…)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It is but I guess life is like that in the wild. I agree about the clouds, Olga they have a certain texture about them. I think the birds have worked out who eats when, it can be a scramble though. It’s always good to have a variety of critters hanging around.๐Ÿ˜ƒ

      Like

      Reply
  7. jenanita01

    Your photographs always stir up a mixed bag of emotions, Laurie, and I’m beginning to wonder if you choose things deliberately. One minute you make us happy, then peaceful, then sad. Looking at photographs has never been such a diverse adventure…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you so much jenanita. If this is the case then I must be doing something right. I want to bring out the emotions of the viewer. You may not realise it but you have given me the impetus to do so much better. Because I’m down to only posting once a week, I want to put as much into it as possible, hence the diversity. In saying this I do like to share my week as I see it. Sad, yes I really felt for Half Ear, it was after all her first Joey. More adventure to come.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. patgarcia

    Hi,
    You have done an excellent job. Your sunrise, even though quieter, reflects a peacefulness that can only be found in the morning hours. Such a sunrise is worth getting up to see. It causes you to meditate. As for the rest of the pictures, they are captivating and especially the one with the rose. I like the colour. It fascinates me because it shows the beauty of nature on this earth.
    Shalom,
    Patti

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Pat, thank you so much. I love the colours in the early morning, they’re so alive. It definitely enlivens one’s day. I agree about the rose. What fascinates me is that all of these different types are the end result of someone’s dedication, love and patience in creating something beautiful.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Dina

    Excellent photos, Laurie! Exotic and so different to our world, it feels good to be connected with you.
    We thoroughly enjoyed this outing, have a wonderful weekend, Dina, Klausbernd, Siri & Selma xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you DIna, oh and the rest of the crew.๐Ÿ™‚ This is the main reason I post my pictures Dina, to connect with others and show them the diversity to be found here. I’m glad that you enjoyed the visit, come back again next week.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Owls and Orchids

    Blue Moon is one of my favourites Laurie. I just lie that delicate lilac colour. Plus I’m jealous I have one of my own. Plenty of orchids but that’s how it goes.
    I have to admit the old Toowoomba has seen an overhaul and looks lots more children friendly. Back when mine were small it was a highlight to go to the ‘duck pond’. Yes I know names!ithink it was Queens Park but that’s a guess. Although Christopher nearly joined the ducks a few times with his exuberant tossing of the bread. Oh the memories. Thanks I needed that. ๐Ÿ˜ณ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ’—

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s a nice rose Susan, and I hope to have many more nice ones.๐Ÿ™‚ We rescued the orchids and they should get a go on now. I’d rather go to Toowoomba than Brisbane, especially through the week. There’re that many parks up there it’s hard to keep a check on them. You haven’t lived as a kid unless you’ve ended up in the duck pond at least once. Glad i could help with the memories.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  11. kcg1974

    Laurie, all of your pictures are fantastic in their own right. Sunsets are a favorite of mine and I love animals and insects. The birds are an absolutely precious pair, but my heart must ‘vote’ if you will for the glorious lavender rose. Exquisite!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  12. aurorajeanalexander

    Beautiful pictures, Laurie. I love them. This weeks’ favorite surprisingly is the moth. I love it. So beautiful. Thanks for sharing these!
    You know, in fact I wonder when you will start organizing your first vernissage in a gallery.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you AJ. Well the moth took more work than the all the others combined. I think he was teasing me. There’s a cafe in town that put photographer’s works up for sale. Might have to make some inquiries. Cheers, Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  13. hitandrun1964

    That rose is amazing. Reallyโ€ฆso beautiful. The birdsโ€ฆI don’t know how things can be that wonderful. I can’t believe I would ever get used to seeing them. The graphics on the truck, rock. And the moth and the fly are very cool and lovely (I never thought I would say that about a fly). I feel bad about the kangaroo:(

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Good morning Gigi. Roses are so photogenic, I’m looking forward to spring, believe me.๐Ÿ™‚ The birds are here every morning and evening and I still stop to watch them. Thought you might like the truck art, I love it too. That’s what I like about photography, one can take a pic of a fly and show just how colourful and unique they are. of course they’re never welcome at meal times. I felt the loss when Half Ear turned up without him. I wonder what they think when this happens? Anyway thanks for the visit Gigi.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        I look forward to every post. I feel so bad for the joey. Is there any hope that he’s okay? You’re looking forward to spring? Is it winter and you can still get photographs like THAT and things are still green????? The birds are truly amazing. The fly is beautiful.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I’m very glad that you enjoy my post Gigi.๐Ÿ™‚ No, sadly he’d be gone. We get a lot of wild dogs through here and they chase down the roos.๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’m only looking forward to spring for my roses. No it’s still autumn, we have great winters up here, down south they get some snow in the mountains and storms etc. it stays green around here until the first frosts grab us. The light is excellent here in winter, with more fine days than cloudy. I do like the galahs this week myself, they are real characters. You wouldn’t think flies would look so colourful. thanks so much for dropping in.๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  14. davidprosser

    I can’t believe your pics are not in a magazine or even a coffee table book Laurie. I’ve seen plenty of professionals who can”t produce pictures like these. There isn’t a poor quality one amongst them. Naturally I’m going to like the birds and that pair look as though they’re listening to you. The sunrise fantastic, Ned Kelly mailbox- Rust In Peace. The insects are amazing, the train is a great idea. The rose is beautifully taken, the truck detailing is great and of course the roos. I hope the joey is off visiting with family rather than nature taking it’s course.
    Take great care of yourself mate
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ll do it one day David, thank you for your encouragement. Galahs were busy feeding then they saw me, gave me the bird version of the evil eye. Yes old Ned could do with an oiling. So I take it I ticked all the boxes today? Sadly the Joey would have died. It was too little to survive on its own.
      Taking care, Hugs,
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  15. CaronAllanAuthor

    Great pics as always – my favourite this week is the moth. although Thomas is a close second, why can’t all parks be that family friendly? Condolences to Half-Ear, we know nature is prone to disasters, but we always hope to avoid such things.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron, the moth was worth the effort, flighty little blighter. That park is delightful and I bet the kids love Thomas. Yes it’s a bit sad about Half Ear, she just sat and ate while I talked. It’s funny, she doesn’t wander away like the others. Yes, life has its ups and downs, even for the animal kingdom.

      Like

      Reply
  16. suzjones

    Great shot of the galahs. My in laws feed birds each day and the whole lot come in together. They’re bossed around by the lorikeets but there is usually plenty for everyone.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Suz, they make great subjects. A couple of different species may turn up together and there’s a little kerfuffle. The Galahs usually win. There’s plenty for all here but the bigger birds will actually sit in the feeders so even their own kind can’t feed. Sounds familiar.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

