Hello from the Writer’s Room, are you still there?

Hello everybody, I’ve resurfaced. I won’t go into detail about my abscence other than to say life has been somewhat disruptive over the past two months. Once again I’ve become ill after going away. Lorelle had a medical scare and now has an ‘all clear.’ It’s not hard to fall into the pit when things get tough and of course a lot of things go by the way, needless to say I’ve neglected you for long enough. So to get started we’ll have a Roo pic, surprise surprise. It’s why I take my camera everywhere, he was the last of a small mob drinking from the bottom dam.Kangaroo drinking.

A Crucifix Orchid growing in our new garden.Crucifix Orchid

Angelic beings pop up everywhere. Taken in Toowoomba where street art is flourishing.Angle street art

A White’s Tree Frog, he came out when I was watering the other day. It’s still a little cool for them to be out in any number. I like his quirky, lopsided grin.White's Tree Frog

I thought the Stags had all left or been shot but here they are, down the end of the road.Β Red Deer Stags.

A shot of Brisbane City from on-board the cruise ship.Brisbane.

I’ve never sailed up the Brisbane River so I spent until dark taking pics. I think somebody pulled the plug on this old Tug boat.sunken tugboat

I like to experiment with various subjects and food is something I like. Everything was delicious, except for the Kiwi Fruit. I’m allergic to strawberries and Kiwi fruit has the same substance in them that causes the reaction.😦Food platter

I think the Pelican is making these Whistler ducks nervous.

Pelican and Whistler DucksEarly morning anchored off Airlie Beach in far north Queensland. The rainbow is more of a rainblob.Airlie Beach

“Now listen up Roopert, you wash your ears with your paws, not your great flippin feet.”Wallaby

This Galah looks so woeful as he watches the Crested Pigeons blocking his way to the bird feeder.Galah and Crested Pigeons

This Wood Duck has started a trend. It’s not often you see one perched in a dish. About five off them turn up every day, guzzle down some grain, poop in the bird bath, then after having a wash they proceed to clean up the discarded grain on the ground.Wood Duck

Well, that’s your lot for this week. The page should load easier as I’ve reduced the file sizes. I will be getting back to visiting blogs this weekend and catching up with everybody. Hope you’ve enjoyed this week’s offerings.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

84 thoughts on “Hello from the Writer’s Room, are you still there?

  1. Nicci

    So glad you’re back and you and Lorelle are doing well again. The blogisphere is not the same without you! Love the roo drinking from the dam with the reflection. Many beautiful photos showing us your neck of the woods. The one of Brisbane from the water shows a lot of the city.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia. It’s good to be feeling better. I didn’t think I made that much of an impression. That’s my first ever drinking roo btw.πŸ™‚ I’m happy with the pic of Brisbane, a whole different perspective.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Nicci

        Yes you make an impression! I was sad and a little worried, so glad you’re okay and that the love of your life is, too. We writers have to stick together! It’s a hard row to hoe and I was worried you were discouraged. We are in very different genres but the dream is the same. Finding readers for our work. Blogging for me was a way to have a web presence to start, but it is much more! A community, and a place of learning and expansion. My blog friends are a big part of my life! That means you!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Well, that’s good to know.πŸ™‚ Yes, we’re better, I dislike this aging business. I’ve become very discouraged with writing, blogging etc. I think I’m hanging on to be polite and of course keep up with my friends on WP. I have this whole who gives a damn attitude Nia and I don’t like it . Photography has become another crutch, luckily I really like doing it. I’ll be taking another look at the whole process at the end of the year. It’s lovely to be part of your blogging life Nia.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Nicci

        Thanks, Laurie. Aging and writing are tough bordering on miserable sometimes! You might need to advertise to readers of thrillers. It’s tricky. I’m learning some things that work a little.

        Photography is my joy too. I like to look at people’s photos and I love to carry my camera with me and take photos. I haven’t had much time to post-process them, but who cares? Photography is a nurturing hobby for me. Fun to share it all with you, Laurie.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I’ve come to the conclusion that the only people who read author’s blogs are other authors with a book to sell. As for photos, well you reach a wider audience. I like to make the best of my pics, mainly for my own benefit. it’s whatever floats your boat Nicci.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. mindlovemisery

    Have I ever missed you Laurie! You know I have thought about you quite a lot! I hope that you and your wife are in good health and good spirits =) Your pictures are smashing. I love their little lopsided grins too, handsome little bugger =)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Candice, it’s great to hear from you. Thought about me? So that’s why my ears were burning. Lorelle’s doing okay now, I’m still doubtful but looking at life differently. Glad you like the pics. I love photographing frogs, he was almost ready to drop his tongue out.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. mindlovemisery

        Could be Laurie. I am sending her lots of positive vibes. Where I grew up we had lizards and frogs everywhere, I think I have just seen one frog in Sweden in nearly 6 years. I am not so sure when they get to come out of hibernation here.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Tami McVey

      Grrr, it wouldn’t let me go back to edit! LOL Should have read: Super-glad to hear that Lorelle is okay AND it was only a horrible scare. Good grief, fingers are faster than my brain this morning!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    2. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s great to be back Tami and showing off my pics.πŸ™‚ yes it is good that she’s okay, after having cancer previously this one came as a shock but all is well. I used to have a handle on life but it broke.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks jenanita, the break was dragging on a little too long. I hope that I bring a little colour into your life for a while to come. I hope so too, it gets a bit beyond the pale after all this time. Thanks for the re-post too.πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Ah Sorella, where would I be without you? It’s nice to be missed but good to be back. I couldn’t post my first blog back and not include a roo or two.
      Cheers
      Fratello.
      xox

      Like

      Reply
  3. liz blackmore

    YAY! You are back! I can’t tell you how happy I am to see you haven’t lost your eye or gift of gab! I wish you continued strength with fighting the health demons dwelling in your home. Darn them!!
    BIG hugs to you both!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yay! I’m here. It’s nice to know I’m missed liz.πŸ™‚ Eye and my gabbiness are still intact, can’t say much for everything else. Thanks for the kind thoughts and hugs liz.
      Hugs back at you. Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Ms. Vee

    Hello Laurie! I’m here and it’s so nice to see you. I pray that everything is getting better each day for you and Lorelle. The photography is…awesome as ever. Good to see you back. Blessings and peace!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. CaronAllanAuthor

    Wonderful to have you back – things have been a bit too quiet without you. Lovely photos, the pics of Brisbane took me back, and gave me a little pang. And I remember those pigeons are the type that sound like a biplane stalling mid-flight, they charge up into the sky then seem to just hang there for a second before falling back down again. Sending happy thoughts to you and Lorelle. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Sorry about that, I prematurely hit send. I’m happy with that pic of Brizzie. Glad to have helped with those memories. You’re right about the pigeons, they make that racket. Thanks so much for the happy thoughts, they’re always welcome.
      Cheers from us.πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

      Reply
  6. Yvonne

    It’s so good to have you back again. I hope everyone is feeling hale and hearty again.

    I reckon you’ve set yourself a very high standard with your ‘return to the blog scene’ photos! They’re all so interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Pagadan

    Laurie, It is so nice to hear from you! I thought about you the other day and hoped you were all right… I’m glad to hear from you and see that you’re still busy sharing your marvelous photos! The rainblob, still life, and orchid were especially nice. I also enjoyed the White’s tree frog. My sister used to have some…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. hitandrun1964

    I’M SO GLAD YOU’RE BACK!!!! Did I say type loud enough? YAYAY! Your photographs are fantastic, as always. The flower should be on the cover of a magazine and I love the bathing roo and her baby. The birds are gorgeous and the frog is so adorable. Love your work and soooooooooo happy to see you again. Hi to L Hope she’s up and around again.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. aurorajeanalexander

    Reblogged this on Writer's Treasure Chest and commented:
    Laurie Smith, a friend of mine who is not only an extraordinary author (Writer of the “Death Series”, Mountain of Death, Valley of Death, River of Death) – but he as well is an amazing photographer and shares his pictures on his blog. This is another series of pictures I admire. Have a peek.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  10. aurorajeanalexander

    Welcome back Laurie. You’ve been missed!!
    What a beautiful re-start with these pictures. It took me another long time to pick my week’s favorite.
    It might surprise you, but this time it is the crucifix orchid. It is so unique – and extraordinary. I smiled looking at it.πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

