All over the place at The Writer’s Room.

Yes, we do get snow in Queensland, sometimes. ย I took this between the towns of Stanthorpe and Wallangara, about a two hour drive south of where we live. A cold blast came up from Antarctica in mid July and we felt the chill.Snow on the tracks

We then drove down to Mount Mackenzie, outside Tenterfield in NSW. One has to follow the snow.car in the snow

A Paper mill on the Brisbane River, taken from the cruise ship.Paper mill

Leaving the Pacific Jewel at Airlie Beach, yes the weather was a little overcast at times.Pacific Jewell

I don’t normally take pictures inside men’s urinals but I couldn’t resist this one. Situated at Airlie Beach it caused a minor controversy when the pictures were installed. Guess which one I stood at.urinal art

 

 

 

 

 

 

A distinguished looking chap dressed as an Australian Army officer from WW1, taken at Grandchester. Celebrating 150 years of train travel in Queensland. I like his pipe.Portrait

 

 

 

 

I know, I put a frog up last week but this one has such a compelling stare I had to share it.Whites tree frog.

You’ll notice that this young lady is a little different from the others. She is a Red Necked wallaby and actually stayed still long enough to photograph. They’re very skittish.Red Necked Wallaby

We’ve had a few flocks of Ibis wandering around the paddock lately. They’ve been cleaning up the wolf spider population, every two or three steps and they stick that beak down a spider hole. They look ordinary until the sun shines on their feathers.Ibis

Nipped into Gatton today and made a quick visit to the bird sanctuary. It started to rain and I snapped this Ibis from the shelter. The rain was quite welcome.Ibis

Nothing more beautiful than a Rainbow Lorikeet, taken in the front yard.Rainbow Lorikeets

That’s it for another week, hope you enjoy the offerings.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

42 thoughts on “All over the place at The Writer’s Room.

  1. teagan geneviene

    What a lovely and varied collection of photos, Laurie. In the third one, for an overcast day, you certainly captured the beautiful colors. As much as I love animals (particularly those gloriously colored lorikeets) i think that one is my favorite today. Mega hugs! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Jane Risdon

    Fab photos as ever and interesting little comments along the way. I loved the urinals – says a lot about me! Still trying to work out which you would take. Thanks Laurie, fab that you are around again๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. aurorajeanalexander

    Thanks for another wonderful collection of pictures you shared, Laurie. I almost think I told that once or twice before – but I LOVE your art of photography. I think you’re so talented! Look at that frog! It’s fantastic!!
    Now: There’s another quite hard choice for me: to pick my favorite. I am pretty close to chose the spider eating Ibis… you know I loath spiders… but then: I decide for the Ibis in the rain. It is a unique picture – and so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re welcome AJ. I think you may have mentioned that once or twice.๐Ÿ˜It seems I can’t go wrong with frog pics. That Ibis just walked past the other day, snacking away. I like the one in the tree too, might just see how it looks in b&w. Thanks again AJ, appreciate it.๐ŸŒน

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. nataliescarberry

    What’s not to enjoy, Sir L? Stella photos as usual! And the bird that goes after the spiders, could stay on my property as long as he wanted and eat all the little creepy spiders he could find. And yes, I loved the stare on the frog’s face and the sweet wallaby that was willing to pose. Thanks for sharing your world with me, Laurence. Hugs’n love, N๐Ÿ™‚โค

    Like

    Reply
  5. suzjones

    I adore that photo of the ibis in the rain. It has a quality about it that I really love. And you know I love your snow pictures.๐Ÿ™‚
    My guess was you stood in front of the girl blowing bubbles with her bubble gun.๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re most welcome jenanita, I’m happy to have brightened your day. Snow, yes! It was great too. We left home at 4 in the morning to go and see it.๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much for the reblog.

      Like

      Reply
  6. hitandrun1964

    The photograph of the Ibis is so stunning I hardly know what to say. And I love the beautiful kangaroo. She’s so adorable. The frog is lovely and the lorikeets are always fun. I still can’t believe you can see things like that where you live. In the wild. It’s just so amazing to me. I love the Ibis. So gorgeous. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. A common old Ibis has a bit of glitter about them. The kangaroo is cute, although she has a stern little face.๐Ÿ™‚ They’re really all here, going about their business, I felt sorry for the Ibis in the rain though.

      Like

      Reply
  7. davidprosser

    Fantastic photographs Laurie, especially the rainbow lorikeets. I’m still waiting for the postman to deliver mine, I hope you sealed the envelope well. What a surprise to see snow there. No-one here can imagine snow in Australia.
    Keep well my friend
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Yvonne

    The Wallaby and her joey are very appealing. I miss ibises, we don’t seem to have them up in northern Queensland. I shan’t miss the cane toads when I move to Victoria next week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

