Hmm, I may have missed a post at The Writer’s Room.

It seems that I missed a post last week. Life, and other things caught up with me and the blog went west. So lets make up for it this week. Spring fairs are everywhere at the moment. I quite fancy this floral display at the community hall.
flowers

One of the churches were displaying all sorts of things. This craft display has a 100 years of Anzac theme. I do like the Light Horse saddle, accouterments and uniform. the quilts were good too.display

Yes, we’re back at the snow. I thought this claw like tree would look good in B&W. Actually, my first thought was, Hmm, there’s a good deal of firewood in that.Clawtree

Took this from the cruise ship heading down the Brisbane river. One can only imagine where the dogs would go.Seadogs

For the steam train enthusiasts among you. Taken at the steam fest last month.Steamtrain

Another Galah but those wings look good.Galah
I was standing at the fence yesterday afternoon checking on the horses when this young King Parrot landed in the tree above me. I took a few shots and talked to him so he flew down, the lens was almost in his face when I took this. He followed me to the feeder and actually ate out of my hand.King Parrot
I haven’t forgotten the Roo lovers. Joey is checking to see if the rain has stopped.WallabyJoey

Crikey, that water looks cold. You can see the old car from the previous post in the background.Pond

Another eagle and crow shot. If you look closely you’ll see that the crow had a beak full of feathers.Wedgetail Eagle and crow What I like about this wallaby, other than the grass in his mouth is the way his claws make a little love heart.❀
Malewallaby

For those seafaring types, this is the USS George Washington, berthed in Brisbane in June.
USSGeorgeWashington
Well, we’ve come to the end of another week. I hope you’ve enjoyed my offerings. Until next time,
Cheers
Laurie.

75 thoughts on “Hmm, I may have missed a post at The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Dina, I’ve had quite a few positive comments about the banner, it does stand out.πŸ™‚ The place is hopping this morning too. The Roos are sunbathing after yesterdays storms.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you, as you would have noticed the Galah takes pride of place on my header. I was pretty impressed by that parrot. He was perching on the tractor the other day looking for a feed.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  1. Eli Pacheco

    Great to see you back at it, old boy. That parrot takes the cake. We’re starting to get a bit of chill in the air here, so maybe you’re finally giving up Winter to your neighbors on the other side of the equator.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      In a way it’s good to be back mate but I’m still not sure. I do love that parrot, he perched on my tractor the other day. No food there though. Yes winter may be coming up there but it’s left a few remnants here. 5 deg celsius here this morning.

      Like

      Reply
  2. hitandrun1964

    That bird photo should definitely win some kind of prize. He ate out of your HAND. How amazing is THAT!!! Those sweet birds must be so cold:( The roo is adorable:) I love your photographs and you skipped a week:(

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I thought the Coop members might like him.πŸ™‚ He just sat there and kept trying to get onto the lens hood on the camera. I’m stoked about him eating from my hand, I must have a trustworthy face. I’m so glad you liked the pics and yes I’m bad for missing a week.😦

      Like

      Reply
  3. nataliescarberry

    Ya know, I wondered about that at the time. Okay why west? Why not east? Or south? or North? I’m just a curious kind of girl! Well at least you made up for the missed week because tonight’s was splendid, as usual. That wallaby has the sweetest little face! I pray you have a fabulous weekend, Sir L. Love’n hugs, LMSπŸ™‚β€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I think the term may be an American one, with all the migration going from the east coast to the west. Unknown lands and people not coming back, like my blog post.πŸ™‚
      Yes, I though I’d better make up for it, or else. I love their faces, they’re adorable. My weekend should be good, we’re going to Toowoomba tomorrow for the spring carnival. Watch this space. You have a good one too LMS.
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga, steam trains are impressive. the parrot? I’m not sure. They see us around the yard all the time and we talk to them but to have a wild one actually eat from your hand is great. Most of them fly away if you get too close to the feeder. Some will land on the guttering then hang upside down and chatter away. A couple of years ago Lorelle had one land on an outstretched stick. I’d like to think it was me though.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. davidprosser

    This is a Fantastic display Laurie. Great shots but you know very well that I’m going to say I love the bird shots most especially the young king parrot. You really must have charmed him if he followed you to the feeder. Perhaps your next book can be on how I get Joey to actually come to me and stop giving me a rollocking.
    Lovely to see a post from you mate
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, I do try.πŸ™‚ I knew you’d love the bird shots and it was a great feeling to have him eat out of my hand. So trusting. Yeah, those Joeys may be a whole different kettle of fish. Glad you enjoyed it Mate. Hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. aurorajeanalexander

    Another colorful bunch of beautiful pictures Laurie, and it isn’t getting any easier to choose my favorite.
    I cannot make up my mind and that’s why I’m picking TWO winners this week. The eagle and crow shot and the King parrot. I love them both and I don’t know which one is more powerful to me.πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Patricia Salamone

    What a delight this post is for me. After the past two weeks 911 here twice, Mike’s heart is at it again. The doctors put a pacemaker in and hopefully that will help. I think I only have one nerve left and feel like the stress is quicksand and pulling me down fast.
    You have relieved some of the stress Fratello with you beautiful photo’s. You make the screen come alive with beauty, and thanks for the Roo’s , but to tell you the truth although it was difficult I really love the flowers. I could almost smell their fragrance. Thank you.

    Fond Regards,
    Sorella

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Why thank you Sorella. I imagine 911 is still a very raw subject over there. More worrying is Mike’s health. You’d be at the end of your tether by now. How is he today? I’m so happy that my offerings are a balm for your troubles. It’s why I put a variety of pics in, people like different subjects.πŸ™‚ They are a nice bunch of flowers. You’re so welcome, try not to sink too quickly. Take care, hugs, Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

