Nearly missed another one at The Writer’s Room.

(For those folk who follow this post via Facebook, click the WordPress link to come to the blog and see the rest of the pictures.) Another busy week almost brought about a missing post again. I’ve been doing some heavy duty gardening, overdoing it probably and getting sick. A Nephew came to visit and gave me a hand and ably assisted in the great rat extermination. Yes, we had a pair of rats in the ceiling. They made themselves known by chasing each other across the tin roof in the wee hours of the morning. I went outside and spotted the little…….. To cut a long story short and after drilling holes in the wall they have gone to that great rat paradise. Lorelle vetoed my idea of getting a Carpet Python to put in the ceiling, that’d fix the little blighters. Okay, here’s our first offering a climbing rose. We visited Harrow Homestead at Cambooya, west of Toowoomba. It’s an historical homestead and it’s absolutely gorgeous. There’ll be more pics next week.Climbing Rose

If you had the dubious pleasure of riding one of these everyday there’s no way you’d need a gym membership. taken at the Steamfest,Railway equipment

It may be obvious that I have a soft spot for frogs. This White’s tree Frog is only tiny, about an inch long. I love the texture of his skin.White's tree Frog

Taken at Port Douglas. I can only imagine that this is an old boat shed. A photo of someone taking a photo.๐Ÿ™‚Port Douglas

A Noisy Mynah bird taken at Somerset Dam. “Excuse me lady, the banana was delicious. Now may I have a drink of your, half strength, flat white, exquisite coffee, please?”Noisy Mynah Bird

For the Roo lovers. This handsome fellow is one of several Red Necked Wallabies that are starting to make the paddock their home.Red Necked Wallaby

A section of the Richmond River, at Kieth Hall, Ballina.Ballina

Cymbidium Orchids in our garden.Cymbidium Orchid

When we moved onto our property I bought a hmm, few tons of sandstone rocks from the quarry at Helidon. While gardening a few weeks ago, I took a closer look at this rock and realised that I had a section of fossilised sea bed. I do believe they are sea worm tubes.Fossil

An old cattle property in decline on a back road between Fernvale and Somerset Dam.Country View

An Iris at the bottom of the garden.Daylilly

My nephew, Jason ready to head back to Darwin yesterday morning. I must say that I felt a pang of envy, his bike is beautiful. A Victory Gunner, it’s about 1,700cc’s and it’s a real goer. Sigh.ย Jason

I guess that’s it for another week, I’m trying to keep it diverse. So until next week, take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

50 thoughts on “Nearly missed another one at The Writer’s Room.

  1. jason

    Hahaha you put that photo of me and the bike up this week. I’m honoured to have made your weekly wall big fella. For Ms Vee, the stuffed animal’s name is Foxy. It’s my 5 yo son’s “safety blanket” very surprised he gave him to me prior to leaving and said, “foxy wants to go for a ride to keep you safe.” Melted my heart he did. So on the back he stayed for the entire trip, facing anyone who came up behind me. Photos were taken every couple of days and sent home letting Lukas know that Foxy was ok. You have certainly provided some tasty morsels this week!! The boat shed is a great photo, especially like the mountain range in the distance, the river is very nice, the orchids again, just can’t get over how well you grow them, the dilapidated property is good, the fossil is terrific very detailed but, we have a penchant for frogs in this house so we can’t go past that little fella. It appears he’s turning his head and giving a quick wink. Great photos again. One thing I will mention, I noticed I was smiling the whole time I was reading all the reviews. I’m really happy that so many people out there look forward to and love your weekly blog, love your little blurbs on the photos and your humour. It’s great you’re touching so many people in so many different ways. I’m really proud of you, miss you heaps and love you very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      As you should be, not everybody reaches the dizzy heights of Laurie’s Blog.๐Ÿ™‚ That’s too cute about Lukas and Foxy, it would have brought a tear to my eye too. It’s all about those tasty morsels Mate, something of a lead up to a banquet. With the orchids it’s all about neglect, a bit of watering and some liquid fertiliser when one thinks about it. Position is the key though. Frogs are important here, except with Rel, she’s not a fan. That little fella was on the verge of smiling or winking, I’m not sure which. yes there are plenty of nice people who drop in and comment, I’ve known most of them for about three years now and they’re good folk. Thanks for dropping in and making a great comment Jas, we miss and love you all too.
      Cheers
      Uncle Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Dina

    Absolutely gorgeous images, Laurie. Your world is so totally different to ours. But rats are everywhere and a bad nuisance as we’ve experienced too.
    Best regards from the four of us,
    Dina x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Dina, it is a little different down here. I have a live and let live policy here, you stay down the paddock and you’re fine. Get into my ceiling and boy there’s going to be trouble.๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Kev

    Great pics as always, Laurie… love the new header pic too!

    Joining you in the throes and pangs of envy over that bike… tell nephew he’s not allowed to ride it around your blog anymore!๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks a lot Kev. Took that pic out front on a rainy day, it’s quite popular. That bike is nice!!!!! He’s back in Darwin now after 9,760 kilometres about 5,600 miles. The biggest percentage on out back roads.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. teagan geneviene

    Hi Laurie, thanks for letting us join you on another week of fantastic photos — and for the perfect single yellow rose. Harrow Homestead sounds like an interesting place.
    What a view you have! Stunning. That’s a great shot of Jason too — I’m glad he came to lend you a hand. Please don’t over-do. I’ve made my back old before its time by being determined to do what was physically impossible for me. Now I pay the price for my stubbornness.
    Have a wonder-filled new week. Mega hugs!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re most welcome teagan, it’s always my pleasure. That rose is nice, the sky really sets it off. I’ll be putting a couple of pics of the Harrow homestead this week. I do like our view, everyone who comes here stands and stares at it for a while. My back’s been stuffed for many years, I just try to ignore it. Although I am careful how I treat it now. My weeks’s been good so far teagan. Fingers crossed it will stay like that. Huge hugs back at ya.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    Well, it’s a good thing you didn’t miss another one! I’d have been sorely disappointed. The photos are great as usual and the one in your header of the bird in what looks like snow or rain is simply stunning, Sir L. I’m so glad you got rid of your rats and that your nephew came and helped you out some. That is a splendid looking bike he’s sitting astride. Well, mister wonderful, little LMS is very tired tonight, and so I’m off to beddy bye. Have a wonderful weekend. Love and hugs,๐Ÿ™‚โค

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It was close LMS, real close. Thanks for the kind compliment. Yes, it’s a Galah coming in to land at the feeder in the rain. Rats are gone, at last. There’s 40 acres for them to live in not my roof.๐Ÿ˜ฆ I agree on the bike. it’s an American brand and it’s built like a tank. You have a great nights sleep LMS. My weekend has been busy, it’s Sunday afternoon right now and stormy. This is good we need the rain.
      Love’N Hugs
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. olganm

    Amazing pics, Laurie. The flowers are all looking great. I agree with you about the motorbike. I’ve never had one but I still felt envious. I wonder what other rock magic you might have around.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga, i appreciate you dropping in and checking out my pics. I had motorbikes for 20 years and still think about how good it was to zoom along the highways and byways. We have some iron stone. It has ochre, crystal and sandstone through it. May have to take another look at it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Patricia Salamone

    As usual I find pleasure when I view your photo’s and love reading the posts Fratello. I have been quite busy these past few weeks and it is nice to have a cup of tea and enjoy the work of a wonderful artist. The landscape is so beautiful there and I get to add all of your offerings to my travel log. I am a mental traveler most of the time. Thank you for the Roo fix. Please send my regards to Rel. :o)

    Sorella

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m so happy that you find pleasure in my work Sorella. I’ve noticed your absence and wonder how Mike is going. Rel says Hi back to you. It’s the many lovely comments like yours that I receive that inspire me to keep going.โค Cheers,
      Fratello.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Patricia Salamone

        Thanks Fratello. Mike had to have a pacemaker installed. There are some issues that come along with that, but the doctors said in a few weeks things should level off and hopefully he will be feeling better. My stress level has rescinded a bit so I am feeling better. Hopefully I will be posting to my WP soon :o)….. Cheers to you too.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. mindlovemisery

    These are wonderful Laurie =) I love frogs as well when I was in NC there were frogs everywhere but here in Sweden seeing one is a drop everything the entire house comes out to admire it sort of ordeal. Encase you wonder here are the frogs of NC
    http://bio.davidson.edu/herpcons/herps_of_NC/anurans/anurans.html

    NC has a ton of salamanders also if you like the little guys. I was in a temperate rain forest so lots of reptiles and now I live in a Nordic climate so nature is very different. I do like the hedgehogs I must say they are so cute..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Yves. I can only imagine the star status of a frog in Sweden.๐Ÿ™‚ I took a look at the site. Yup, there’re loads of frogs and such in NC. The hedgehogs are likable little critters.

      Like

      Reply
  9. hitandrun1964

    Okay, love the wee frog. Love your nephews bikeโ€ฆa lot, can’t BELIEVE the orchids are GROWING IN YOUR YARD!!! The iris is gorgeous and, well, you know I’m partial to roos:) What kind of bird is that? Adorable. As always, your pictures are a treat to see and you’re fabulousโ€ฆbut then, you already know that, right? Say hi to L for me. โค

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Gigi, so glad you like my offerings. Yes the orchids are all out now, blooming madly away and looking lovely. I just realised that I never named the bird. it’s a Noisy Mynah. They hang around in family groups of half a dozen or more and are real scroungers. hey, I know that.๐Ÿ˜‰ L says Hi back.โค

      Like

      Reply
  10. CaronAllanAuthor

    I thought the rose and the cymbidium and frog were spectacular, then I took a proper look and saw that gorgeous photo of the galah! Amazing. We used to have possums in the roof of the old place in Newmarket, and I swear they played marbles in the evening when we were watching TV. Plus the rather hideous yellow rings on the ceiling…eww!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      yes I put the Galah up as my header picture. I think it’s a beauty too.๐Ÿ™‚ As I’m writing this, there’s what I hope is the last rat in the house. Hopefully he took the bait. I’m all for live and let live as long as the bloody things are living down the paddock. I’d hate to have big possums in the ceiling Caron. pee stains on the ceiling is never a good look. I’ll bee at your post tonight, it’s been a busy week.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  11. aurorajeanalexander

    Oooooh yes!! You took a lot of effort to make it hard for me to chose my favorite – again!
    You’re right, the bike is great!! The fossilized stone is amazing! The Roo is one of my favorite as well and so is the “stealing” bird.๐Ÿ™‚
    But this week it’s a flower I love particularly – and no, not even the rose. It’s the purple iris. So beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  12. Ms. Vee

    All hits this week too Laurie! Your garden must be lovely. I hope you’re feeling better. Is that a stuffed animal that rides with Jason? I could roll in the mountains, that’s an added bonus for me. So happy you got rid of the rodents. LOL..I don’t blame Lorelle one bit, for dismissing the idea of a python. ๐ŸYou are entertaining Laurie!!!! God bless you both!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Vera. I’ll be putting up some pics of our garden later next month, when I’ve done a few more things to it. Yes it’s a stuffed animal. His boys gave it to him to keep him safe on his trip. By the time he returns home he would have traveled 5,000 miles. The snake would have been a lot easier.๐Ÿ˜‰ I try to entertain Vera, I’m a born clown. Thanks for the blessings. Cheers Laurie. BTW There’s still a rat left, it’s in the wall now.๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Ms. Vee

        You’re welcome. I can’t wait to see the pictures of the garden. Awww the stuffed animal for safety. How sweet, he traveled quite a distance. Hopefully the rat makes it was out!! ๐Ÿ˜ŠโœŒ

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Soon, they’ll be up soon.๐Ÿ™‚ yeah that’s sweet isn’t it? The rat is dead!! They can run and play down the paddock but not in my house. I vacuumed out a heap of dead babies the other day. Blech!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, you may be right on the Iris, I’ll change it. The machine was used by rail workers to travel the lines doing maintenance etc. You just sat on it and push/pulled the handle.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Yes, I know the ones you mean. perhaps this one is for a supervisor to check on work in progress or something. It’s certainly bright, you couldn’t miss him on the tracks.

        Like

Tell me what you think.

