Pirates, Pelicans and Parrots at The Writer’s Room.

No dramas this week, I’m in early for a change, what has the world come to? I took this in the Brisbane River at the start of the cruise. Believe it or not this is The Black Pearl from Pirates of the Caribbean. There are a few of them apparently and they’re berthed at various locations. I love the solar panels at the stern. Once we passed a woman came up on deck and waved at us. perhaps a security guard, who knows. So there’s the glamour of Hollywood for you. It’s hard to tell the scale but it’s about the size of a bus.The Black Pearl

Some Roos just don’t like getting their picture taken.Roo on the run

This Pelican didn’t care about me at all. His gaze was firmly fixed on a chap fishing further up the riverbank. Taken on the Brisbane river near Somerset.Whistful Pelican

A succulent growing on a wall at Harrow house.Succulent

This pair had only just finished fighting when I took the shot, observe the feathers drifting about.Galahs

Every cemetery needs its own creepy, dead tree.ย Cemetery

What can I say? This pic was crying out for some dialogue.Magpie and Galah

Only a couple of snow pics left. When I saw the tree on the ground, my first thought was, Hmm, there’s quite a bit of firewood there.Snow trees

Taken on the cruise. This is Willis Island out in the Coral Sea. It’s a weather station, an early warning centre for cyclones. Six people live there for six months, they aren’t allowed to eat any fish they may catch. It’s too far off shore for medical emergencies. After seeing all the birds their biggest problem would be an overdose of bird crap.Willis Island

One of several lovely sections of the garden at Harrow historical homestead.Tranquil pool

The house itself. Due to the amount of trees it’s difficult to get a good front on shot. I’ll post inside shots next week.Harrow Homestead

Last but not least, Bernice from https://laurie27wsmith.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/just-oodles-of-things-at-the-writers-room/ makes her debut appearance as a nude model.๐Ÿ™‚Bernice's Downfall

That’s your lot for another week folks, hope you enjoyed the fun. Come back next week to be…….. insert feeling of choice.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

60 thoughts on “Pirates, Pelicans and Parrots at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Pingback: Go Ask Daddy About Avian Sexual Orientation, My Photographic Tendencies and Theatrical Cliches | Coach Daddy

  2. patgarcia

    Hi,
    The one with the birds talking and the sheep being sheared have me cracking up with laughter. Especially the one with the sheep or is it lamb? Not sure, but I love it!
    Great job.
    Shalom,
    Patti

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Patti, I’m glad to have brought a laugh to your day. I do like putting dialogue on my pics, adds a little humour. It’s a sheep, a very unhappy one at that.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. CaronAllanAuthor

    Gorgeous! The pics aren’t bad either. I remember that stretch along to Redcliffe and Scarborough, there always used to be loads of pelicans, usually asleep on top of the street lights, or trying to catch the eye of old ladies eating ice creams.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Caron. I’m rather fond of Pelicans, they make great subjects. perhaps they were waiting for the little old ladie’s dogs to run lose so they could grab them.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. Eli Pacheco

    The pelican might have been looking to see what the bloke was baiting with. That creepy tree is perfect – do you think it says something that one grave spawned a creepy tree, and the other a healthy one?

    If I’m going to spend six months in a setup like that, I can lay off seafood and medical attention. Seems like a fair tradeoff, mate.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I reckon if you’re going fishing you use something you can eat for bait, if you don’t catch anything. I’ve seen a Norfolk pine tree growing right out of the centre of a grave, it was enormous. That island sounds good, it was a mixed gender setup as well. Imagine the tension.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Bernice is a darling. :-0 Just whines a little bit. The thing with the shearing, especially in Australia is a little controversial but… Because of the climate and the mess that hangs around sheep bottoms they have to do a cut to remove the skin permanently. Otherwise between shearing the area gets fly blown and the maggots eat away the flesh around the anus and such. Damned if they do damned if they don’t I guess.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        With the wool and lamb business out here it’s all in the wide open spaces. You have to get out in those spaces to see just how bad the flies are. They crawl all over your face and into your ears,nose, mouth……

        Like

      2. Jane Dougherty

        You wonder if there’s not something a little illogical thereโ€”all that thick wool, baking hot sun and millions of flies. But if the sheep had cool, summer coats, there’d be no woollen industry, no sheep farms etc etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Yes it is strange Jane but when the sheep were bred for a large wool yield I don’t think much thought was given to the feelings of the sheep. After all, they ended up as dinner when they were old.

        Like

  5. davidprosser

    Brilliant Laurie. My only complaint is no captions on the two birds just finished scrapping. You caught them beautifully and it looks just like a married couple with the female on the left face slightly flushed and now looking very lovey-dovey at him while he looks somewhere between stunned and proud of himself. Now I’m not even sure it was an argument.
    The other pictures are well taken and stunning and your captions are just perfect.
    Take great care of yourself Mate.
    Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. I thought I’d captioned enough, besides the galahs were a better picture. Oh it was a fight, believe me. Feathers flew, dust billowed. It was on for young and old. Thanks for your kind comments, I do appreciate them. Hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bruce. That pic was taken a two hour drive from where we live. It was a
      one in twenty year event. Although some years they get a light dusting now and then. Further south in the Snowy Mountains region the ski resorts get it by the metre.

      Like

      Reply
  6. nataliescarberry

    I just love your posts and your sense of humor, Sir L. Pirates of the Carribbean was one of my favorite movies and yes this boat is a tad smaller but loved it nonetheless. I adore the two birds with the pink fluffiness on their heads and your house is marvelous. I so love the huge porch! I been out there in my rocking chair every chance I could get. I love pelicans and the succulent was fascinating. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one with thorns or fuzz or whatever that was sticking up. I can’t believe the roo gave you an in-your-face view of his backside. Must have been a very bad day for the guy. Better watch out, maybe he’ll break your camera like I did my mouse. Hee hee! All in all, it was another of your fabulous posts, my friend. Have a great weekend. Love’n hugs, LMS๐Ÿ™‚โค

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Sadly that’s not my house, although ours is cute I would love to live in that one. Wait until next week for the inside views. The magic of Hollywood can make dumpy, scrappy boats look like a huge galleon. The succulent does have that certain fuzzy look. I do my darndest to keep away from the male roos for that very reason, oh and being beaten up by them.๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much for dropping by LMS.
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Yvonne, that succulent was just sitting there, begging to be photographed. I like the hairs on on it. The Galahs? Well I just missed the scrap by a few seconds but I do like the light on their feathers.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. aurorajeanalexander

    You know how I love your picture collection Laurie. Each one of them is special in a very unique kind of way. This week I have to admit, I’m sure you know which one I will pick: Exactly! The bird picture with the dialogue. LOL It’s great!! And your dialogue is hilarious!! Thanks for this, Laurie. It made me laugh.๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

