A few relaxing pictures from The Writer’s Room.

My goodness, I made it for another week. Feeling particularly testy last week I grabbed my camera and went outside for a walk. A bank of storms had built up and fortunately this one passed us by. What ticks me off about this picture is I missed seeing the eagle up in the clouds.Storm

The Bull and Barley at Cambooyah is a classic example of early Australian architecture. The food was great and we were lucky to get a seat.Cambooya Pub

The next five pictures were taken at Harrow Historical homestead. I think the sky sets this one off.Tree and sky

Getting a decent shot of the rooms was quite difficult, the rooms were roped off and some people would just push in front of you. Sigh.Bedroom 1

The house is still inhabited by the family. I wonder who gets the job of polishing all the timber?sitting room

These horses were lurking around the place waiting to have their photos taken.Horses

I find this scene quite relaxing.Rowboat

We went to Redcliffe last Saturday and what a beautiful day it was. The original entry to the pier.Redcliffe

This used to be 22 metres ( 72 feet ) of Iron Bark tree. It began to die off a couple of years ago leaving a couple of large, dead branches way up top. Every time I went near it I thought of why they call these trees, Widow Makers. Lorelle’s Uncle cuts and sells firewood for charity. I may be many things but I’m not stupid and know when to call the professionals. It didn’t take too long after it fell to cut and stack into the trailer. I kept the bark, it goes through the chipper for the garden beds. Whatever small ends of timber were left I kept for next winter.ย Felled tree

This Roo looks like I feel most mornings. I snapped him on the way to put the rubbish out. He was stretched out having an early morning kip, stood up when he saw the car and gave me that look. I like the way the sunlight reflects off his hair.Sleepy Roo

The friendly King Parrot is back. I went out to the shed to get something and he and a friend flew to the veranda, hung onto the screen door and began squawking. Silly me, the bird feeder was empty. After grabbing the camera Lorelle came out to talk to them. She picked up the hiking stick and he flew onto it.Lorelle and Parrot

I went into the shed to get some seed and guess who followed me inside? Cheeky little buggers. This link will take you to my FB album for the other shots, you don’t need to be on FB to view it.ย Parrot Pics.King parrot

Well that’s your lot for another week, I do hope you’ve enjoyed my offerings. Stop by next week, there’s always something to see at the Writer’s Room.
Cheers
Laurie.

48 thoughts on “A few relaxing pictures from The Writer’s Room.

  1. patgarcia

    Bro,
    If you ever catch a shot of an eagle flying high in the clouds please let me know. I am looking for just such a picture.
    All of these are lovely, but the first picture won my heart.
    Great job.
    Shalom,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nicci

    Great photos. Love the little boat and the sky, but all are so good. Your new header image is totally breathtaking.

    PS Glad you aren’t stupid.๐Ÿ™‚ A widow maker job…that is sobering. I don’t like my hubby to do certain things. Sometimes he listens to me sometimes not, but he’s careful. I’m the one who fell off a ladder the one time I tried to clean gutters. I’m banned from ladders now. Fortunately I just fell on my bum.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nicci, that boat has a certain something. I think the header will be staying up for a while.๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t even go among the trees when it’s windy, there’s always a dead branch falling somewhere. men are like that, it’s why they don’t live as long ad women. Ouch, falling on your bum can be bad, did you get it rubbed better though?๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. davidprosser

    Fantastic shots Laurie. I can’t believe just how tame that bird is.(cheeky?) he obviously sees you pose no threat to his food nor his missus. I think I’ve given up on Joey now. I’ll just let him do his own thing in his own time and hope he lets me do the same.
    I hope you’re keeping OK.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. Yes he’s cheeky alright, he’d show your Joey a thing or two.๐Ÿ™‚ They’re very trusting and that’s what makes me feel good. I’m keeping okay this week. Hugs to you.
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. teagan geneviene

    My goodness… Yes that would be a lot of timber to polish! But it is a lovely place. No wonder the horses want their pictures taken! Thank you for these lovely photos, Laurie — and the marvelous descriptions you add. I’m absolutely captivated by the king parrots. They sound so tame — especially following you like that. Smart little things. Wishing you a wonder-filled week. Mega hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      One would use a few cans of Mr Sheen I think.๐Ÿ™‚ Those horses were media tarts. The King parrots surprised me to teagan. They’ve become quite chummy. I only put food out every second day, so they all have to go looking for themselves. They would be very easy to tame. The week isn’t too bad so far. Big Hugs, Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. olganm

    Fantastic pics. Love the tree and the house, and the restaurant looks beautiful. And I adore the cheeky parrot. The birds in the garden haven’t followed me into the shed yet, but any day now…:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Wordifull Melanie

    It took me a inute to spot that Eagle!

    I love the shot with L and the bird perched on the stickโค

    The sky does indeed make the shot behind those trees and the boat scene looks like a painting! Did you add any effects to it??

    Nice collection as always๐Ÿ™‚ And thanks for including a roo๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. aurorajeanalexander

    I love the collection, Laurie. I enjoyed all of them, but the one I like the most this week is the “cloud” picture right at the beginning. It’s amazing and you caught it perfectly. Thanks for sharing another fantastic collection!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

