Is there ever any writing done at The Writer’s Room?

At this stage there’s very little writing done here, although I do hope to remedy the situation shortly. A quick snap out the front door showing some of the regulars on the lawn.front yard

The background is a little blown out but it highlights how nice it was under the palm trees, at Port Douglas.Pacific Jewelle

The Galahs weren’t overly impressed when a flock of Long-Billed Corellas turned up on Wednesday. To be honest neither was I. They’re a raucous mob who tend to settle in and chew on everything they can. So out with a steel pan and spoon, a few clangs and they took off.Long-Billed Corella

Take a few steps across the lawn and one gets a different perspective of the range.Mt Beau Brummell

I love taking pics of the Roos in the early morning. Now take a look at the size of his claw.Kangaroo

A view from the ship over to Port Douglas. I took the pic of the ship from the little point of land to the right.Port Douglas

The main hallway at Harrow House, absolutely beautiful.Harrow House

Another early morning shot.Wallaby and Joey

Something not seen before, a different view of our place.our house

I couldn’t resist this one. A huge flock of Rainbow Lorikeets flew in the other morning and took over the feeders. Much to the displeasure of the Galahs.Galahs and Lorikeets

I hope it’s an interesting book, that Gnome is going to be there for a while.Garden at Harrow House

A blast from the past today, I took this in Vietnam. These villagers were turning over dried fish which would end up as fish sauce. One could smell the village from about a kilometre away.dried fish Vung Tau

Well, that’s your lot for another week, nothing outstanding this time. I’ve been busy creating in the garden again and too bloody knackered to do much else. So until next week.
Cheers
Laurie.

 

 

 

 

61 thoughts on “Is there ever any writing done at The Writer’s Room?

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It is nice, I’m sure they’re used to posing now.πŸ™‚ I never tire of photographing them Melanie. Yup, 42 acres is big enough. Let’s say it keeps me as busy as I want to be.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Klausbernd

    Dear Laurie,
    I am utterly impressed. 42 acres – that’s exactly 42 times bigger than our place. For me one acre is just managable, well, I have the help of my Bookfayries and dear Dina.
    When I was writing every day for 8 hours I had a gardener to help. Now I am retired but I am considering to change to something smaller. You have have my full admiration for managing your land and to write.
    Love from the other side of our planet
    KlausberndπŸ™‚
    We, all the Fab Four, are so happy to hear that the hurrican missed you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Dear Klausbernd, Yes 42 of them, although I leave a fair bit of it rough but it still needs timber picking up and the grass slashed. I did the majority of my writing while I was ill for a couple of years and of course the property suffered. Now I’m doing more about the place. Yes that storm. Quite often we get mini tornadoes in them, only about 20 metres wide but terribly vicious. We had one miss the house by about 50 metres earlier this year and every tree it touched was ripped apart.
      Here’s lover and best wishes from down under.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Ms. Vee

    I don’t know how I missed this post. Awesome Laurie. Geez I can smell the fish. Had fish and shrimp for dinner this evening. I wish I could look out front and have your view..😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. patgarcia

    Hi,
    That wood panel in the hallway of Harrow House is beautiful. Excellent work. You know I didn’t realize you had a huge yard until today. How do you manage it all?
    All of the pictures are gorgeous. Filled with detail and the color is absolutely defined in each picture. Have you ever thought about doing an exhibition? Perhaps talking with someone in your area who has an art gallery or a even a large restaurant or art store?
    Great work.
    Shalom,
    Patti

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It certainly is Patti, I’d hate to polish it. yes, it’s a huge yard. Then of course there’s the rest of the place. I pick up horse manure for the yard, rake up mulch from under the trees and now and then slash the grass in the paddock. Phew! I’ve given some thought to an exhibition but I get all enthusiastic then poof, it’s gone. There’s an art exhibition coming up soon, I might stick a couple of pics in there.
      Thank you Patti.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Jane Dougherty

    Gardening is one of the great creative exercises, and what’s more, you get that lovely self-righteous feeling afterwards for being so utterly worn out. Keep snapping. Btw, it was very considerate of that boat plonking itself perfectly between those two trees so you could take your pic.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. CaronAllanAuthor

    Great photos – love the view from the front door! Not sure I could bear to visit that Vietnamese village though, if there’s one thing I can’t stand it’s the smell of fish. But interestingto see them working the fish like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. nataliescarberry

    Hey you’re pictures are a great treat as are you comments about them, so no worries, mate! (Thought I’d thrown a little Australian at ya! Hee hee! Loved all the photos and your corny joke about the rainbow like birds, and you have a very nice place there, Sir L. As always I loved your post. You are always a welcome guest in my inbox, my friend. Love’n hugs, LMSπŸ™‚β€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much LMS, much appreciated. You’ll have to work a little on the accent though.πŸ˜‰ I’m full of corny jokes although I think this one was pretty good. It is a nice place, it keeps me busy.πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for dropping in, you too are always welcome.
      Love’n Hugs
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. mindlovemisery

        I would love to see that Laurie =) My mother-in-laws buys us plants from time to time, plants she assures us are very hard to kill I think that right there says how good I am with plants lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You don’t have a green thumb Yves, you have a grey thumb. It’s know as the palliative care thumb. You carefully and gracefully assist the plant to peacefully slip away.πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Dina

    Nothing outstanding this week???😳 We can’t take our eyes πŸ‘€ off all the wonderful, exotic and so very different parts of your life, Laurie.πŸ™‚ What a lovely house and estate you have! Can you cope with all the work involved maintaining it by yourselves? Lovely, lovely animal world down there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m probably a little jaded with living among it all Dina.πŸ™‚ We’re happy with our place, it’s 42 acres mostly covered by trees. There’s about 10 acres that I really care for. At the moment I’m busy creating a couple of features. I can cope if I take a bit at a time and not go at it as if I’m 20 years younger. We’re happy with it and all the animals that get around the place. Thanks for dropping in and taking a good look at my work Dina. Cheers, Laurie.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  8. jenanita01

    You are an incredibly lucky man, Laurie, to live where you do. The rest of the world seems to be on its way to hell in a handcart, but I can feel the peace in your lovely photographs. I could do with just a little of what you call normal!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I truly believe that jenanita. We are so far away from it all that the rest of the world is surreal. Everyone who visits here stops and stares out at the ranges, then says,’This is beautiful, how do you live with the peace and quiet?’ We try.πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. Patricia Salamone

    As if I wasn’t jealous enough of your lifestyle, now this. Beautiful Fratello. What keeps me coming back is; I know there is always my chair on the veranda. Do you think the Roos claw was infected? I hope not. Keep snapping away my brother and I will keep visiting. :o)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      There’s always going to be a chair on the veranda for you Sorella and believe me, the views will always be great. The Roo claw was fine, just huge. I try to take a couple of shots a day around the place. One has to keep in practise.πŸ™‚
      Cheers
      Fratello.❀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  10. Nicci

    Gee I wish I didn’t know where fish sauce came from, LOL! Gorgeous shots, and it’s amazing you took photos while in Vietnam. I really enjoy them. I think my favorite shot today is Harrow House, but I like how you show the little point where you took the ship photo from. It is really interesting and orienting, like being there.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I guess it’s another image branded on your mind Nicci. I’d hate to see how they make oyster sauce.😦 Vietnam was probably one of the most photographed wars to date. Harrow House is a winner, a beautiful spot. Yes, I thought the perspective was good with the shot of the park. You would have loved it at Port Douglas Nicci, we’re going back.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You know Gigi I’ve just finished making that same statement.πŸ™‚ I’m immersed in the whole thing so I don’t see it how others might. Glad you liked the critters.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  11. teagan geneviene

    Lauire, I nearly choked when I read “nothing outstanding” because all through this post the following words were in my head — I marvel endlessly at the views in your back yard (and then of course there is the gorgeous actual view of the mountains). The animals, the birds, the plants… It’s wonderful. Thank you so very much for sharing it with us. Mega hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m my own worse critic teagan, probably because all the things I see are ‘normal’ to me. Glad you like this weeks offerings, I try for the eclectic mix you know. Huge hugs back at you.πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  12. aurorajeanalexander

    Another collection of beautiful pictures, Laurie. I too hope there will a lot of writing going on in the writer’s room soon!
    As for this weeks favorite. I chose the main hallway at Harrow House picture. It is absolutely stunning, you’re right.
    Well done!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bob. Yes it is, we’re right off the grid with everything, water, power and sewage. The solar is a 9 Kwh system, 24 panels, 24 x 2.4 volt batteries and a back-up generator. We’re cruising.πŸ™‚

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thanks Bruce, I appreciate it. I’m obviously on a winner with the birds I reckon. The Vietnam shot was one of those, ‘What the heck am I going to stick in this post?’ It gives one an idea on how the fish sauce is made. Man didn’t it stink.

        Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think.

