A couple of birds and stuff at The Writer’s Room.

I haven’t started off with a sunset in ages, so here we are. There’s a certain delicate feel about the clouds.Sunset

While I was slaving away on the rock pile the other day this young Magpie began squawking and carrying on for a feed. His overworked mother flew away and it sat like this for about 20 minutes, didn’t move at all.Β Magpie

“I don’t know what it is but every time I bend over I feel like I’m being watched.”Kangaroo

A buggy at the Harrow homestead, it’s nice but I still prefer my SUV.πŸ™‚Buggy

At Harrow homestead.Garden at Harrow House

Obviously we have a camera shy Bee here but her full load of pollen looks impressive.Bee

Absolutely no trouble taking this picture, the Cicada shell just sat there.πŸ™‚ I noticed it on the fence while taking the pics of the Magpie.Cicada shell.

The Corellas are still hanging around and upsetting the locals. This one made its presence felt.Long Billed Corella

I couldn’t straighten this pic otherwise I’d have lost the Lorikeet flying away. I’d hate to be bitten by the Corrella.Corella and Lorikeets

Struttin’ his stuff.Corella

“Sir, Sir, excuse me Sir, can you let me in? This wire’s a bit sharp and the grass looks so nice in there.”Kangaroo

I don’t think much more can be said about this pic, other than it’s a beautiful Lorikeet.Rainbow Lorikeet

Well, that’s your lot for another week folks. I hope you’ve enjoyed my offerings, if you have come back next week to see what’s happening at The Writer’s Room. For those who are new here there’s plenty to see in the archives, poetry, novels, more photos and a collection of stories from back in the day.
Cheers
Laurie.

59 thoughts on “A couple of birds and stuff at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Jane Risdon

    As always wonderful photos Laurie. Thanks for sharing them. I have not seen you on P&N of late. Have we upset you or have you had enough of us all? You are always welcome there and your photos much enjoyed, so do come back soon, we have missed you lots.πŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Jane. No, I left P and N a few weeks ago. I let you know on FB, you may have missed it. It wasn’t about any upset or having enough of you all. It was all about shedding the load of sites I was visiting and groups. I can’t give the best of myself lately, so somethings had to go.😦

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Jane Risdon

        Oh I never saw a message Laurie just realised this week you hadn’t been around for a while and one or two had mentioned it also but it didn’t click. I am sorry you left as I know one or two on there have problems and mental issues and they say it lifts them and helps them but then they are not those who have other outlets like writing and so forth. Being a member they rarely post or comment, just pop and look. Sometimes letting me know they are still around. No pressure at all as I said from the start. Will miss you. I do hope you feel stronger soon and will find your way back to us all one way or another, one group or another. No pressure from me or us ever intended….do keep in touch, thinking of you and sending positive vibes always.❀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        No worries Jane. Please don’t take it personally, it’s not the only group I left. My only outlet at the moment is pottering around the place. I’ve given up writing for awhile and only photograph if there’s something outstanding happening. PTSD is insidious and I’ve been fighting it for 43 years. It’s won most of the time but I keep sticking my head up for another go. Sadly it’s those around me who tend to suffer. Anyway, I’ll pop in now and then. Thanks for the positive vibes Jane.πŸ™‚
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. teagan geneviene

    What a marvelous way to begin my Monday. Laurie, as lovely as everything you post is, I think I could look at pictures of just the birds all day — they’re that beautiful. You have a true gift — you even managed to make the Cicada shell look pretty! πŸ˜€
    By they way, that buggy is really cool. Mega hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks teagan, I can only imagine that there are far worse ways to start the week.πŸ˜‰ The birds are popular, they always catch my eye and I go out and snap another one. I took 2 shots of that cicada, the one I put up and one taken from a slightly different angle. Just a little change in that angle was the difference between ho hum and right-on. Yeah the buggy is good. I don’t think the road from there to town had improved over the years though.
      Hugs
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Jane Dougherty

    Beautiful, colourful pics as usual. The bird table shoot out is a great one, but I think my favourite is that stoical magpie chick. And I see now why cicadas prefer to stay invisible. If I looked like that, I would tooπŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That fight is on just about every day Jane, back and forth between the feeders. That magpie amazed me, his mum must have said, sit and don’t move and he didn’t. Yes, one can see why the cicadas change shells.πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. kcg1974

    Laurie, somehow you manage to get the greatest shots. I love the “Homestead” harrow. Would love to curl-up with a book under that beautiful archway. And, the bee-So beeutiful! Of course, all of your pictures are gorgeous. The parrot at the end of them-Fantastic. Your words to capture each one are perfect too, Laurie, adding just the right touch! Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ve learned to take a longer look at what I’m shooting Kim.”Is that the right angle, what about the background?” sometimes you just have to shoot what’s there. Harrow does lend itself to a lazy afternoon, inside or out with a book and a cool drink. I have to admit that bee is good, even without seeing her head.πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments here Kim. It makes me want to go out and take more now. I dont think I’ve ever taken a bad shot of a Rainbow Lorikeet, their colours are just sublime.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. kcg1974

        So welcome, Laurie. You are great behind the lens-a perfect eye! I didn’t know what kind of parrot, but ‘Rainbow’ is the perfect name for this Crayola colored beauty. Fabulous. I’d never move a muscle if I saw one in the wild.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thank you Kim. Yes rainbow is the right term for them. They’re a funny bird, I’ve been able to get up close a few times, they’re more interested in the food than me. There’s a sanctuary down the coast where people go and feed them. The birds turn up in their hundreds and climb all over you. Bird poop alert though.πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. davidprosser

    Fantastic offerings Laurie. Brilliant Sunset, great bee and cicada, beautiful pictures of the homestead and the carriage, not forgetting the roos, including the very polite one ( did you make him a gate?) but, saving the best till last it was birds, birds , birds all the way for me. The young magpie was a great shot as was the lorikeet flying away. The Corella did look a bit of a thug but the last shot of the lorikeet on it’s own was so gloriously colourful.
    Hugs and keep well.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, I see that I whet your appetite with the birds.πŸ™‚ The polite roo was a few metres away from the front gate, they haven’t learned to open it yet. Seriously they just go under the bottom strand of wire or some of the big males just hop over the top. I have to agree about the last lorikeet, he’s beautiful. Their babies were out this morning but I wasn’t quick enough to get a shot.😦
      Hugs back at ya David.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. nataliescarberry

    It’s a good thing this popped in my inbox today, mister. I was just about to send you a wake up call because I thought you had forgotten to post something again. It was definitely worth the wait those. I loved all the photos and of course your always entertaining commentary. The photo of the bee and the stuffed pollen sac was phenomenal. Whatever would I do without you to brighten my week, Sir L. Hugs and love, LMSπŸ™‚β€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Oh no, I didn’t forget LMS. I even had it ready two days prior.πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed my offerings. There’s a lot of hair pulling and gnashing of teeth going on when I’m deciding what to put up.πŸ™‚ I like putting a little commentary up, adds spice. That bee is popular today, shy but popular. Oh, I’m sure there would be someone out there who would brighten your week LMS.πŸ™‚ Love’n Hugs,
      Laurence.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi. The Lorikeet is about twice the size of a budgerigar, I use my BIG lens on the birds as it gives great results. The magpie is adorable, i can’t believe he just sat there for so long. I have a phd in treats.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  7. aurorajeanalexander

    Wow! What a weekly collection once again, Laurie. And since I adore birds and there are so many bird pics I once more needed some time to pick my favorite.
    But I got it now. I kind of got two favorites! One is the young Magpie, the other one is the bee. It’s such an amazing picture. You took this stunning pic with the pollen, every single fiber, every hair, it’s so clear. I love them both.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much AJ! I’m happy to have brought some colour into your week.πŸ™‚ The young magpie has a certain appeal, with his fluffy feathers little tuft on his head. The bee seems popular though, I’m always happy to get a good, clear shot of them.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. I said to Bob earlier that I nearly deleted that pic. Hmm, there was a larger than normal collection of birds this week.πŸ™‚ I’m happy with the bee pic too. Although you can’t see her head, the pollen sac is impressive. have a great weekend Olga.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. CaronAllanAuthor

    That one of the climbing shrubs in Harrow homestead looks amazing. And thanks for the lovely birds and roos. And maybe even the cicada shell, not that I’m a fan of cicadas, but even I have to admit their old skins look pretty good.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The grotto is kind of nice Caron, there’s a lot happening with that climber. I had to make sure there were Roos you know. Hmm, Cicadas. Have you ever stood under a eucalyptus tree then felt a light moisture on your skin? That’s cicada pee. Their skins are interesting, this one was the best I’ve seen in a long while.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

