Taking a Break.

I’m taking a mental health break friends, it’s been something of a push to get this far over the past couple of months. So, I thought I would do the right thing and let you know that I’ll be absent. I’m not sure when I’ll be posting again or visiting your blogs. I’ve thought long and hard about taking this step because I know it could lead to me opting out of the blogosphere altogether. I’ll be keeping an eye on FB and my emails, mainly to keep a check on family. Although if anyone emails me I will reply. As many of you may know I have to contend with ptsd and anxiety, both of which have been riding me hard lately. All the things that used to bring me pleasure are falling away and try as I might I can’t seem to grasp onto them anymore. I know from past experience that by withdrawing for a period of time, I can recoup and hopefully come back better than ever. Take care out there and remember I love you all.
Cheers
Laurie.

Wallaby

69 thoughts on “Taking a Break.

  1. Tamara

    Hello dear Laurie!
    I told Eli to say Hello to you on my behalf – but you know what? I’m a big girl, and I can do it myself!
    I hope you can overcome the darkness and see the light soon. All the best, take care ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Tamara, how nice to hear from you. I so appreciate that you have taken time to send me some encouragement. Life is feeling better and I believe that darkness is moving away again. I’d like to wish you and your family a Happy New Year.❤

      Like

      Reply
      1. Jamie

        Hi, I really enjoy reading your stories. I am very keen on your wartime experiences and it really is interesting. Please take care and God bless!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kev

    Take good care of yourself, Laurie. Blog can wait… we’ll be here when you get back! Look forward to seeing some great photos and posts in the coming year! Kev.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. thisisnotbangkok

    I am sorry to hear this Laurie. I got the feeling that something was amiss. But I can relate as I have an anxiety disorder that I take meds for and have been plagued with anxiety most of my life. I hope this break renews your spirits and that you come back soon…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael, you were right. I was kind of jut going through the motions. Hmm, and I haven’t seen you for a while neither. Anxiety sucks big time Mate, Takes the enjoyment out of one’s life. I hope the break helps too, something’s got to give. Have the best time you can over xmas Michael. Hope life treat you better.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Wordifull Melanie

    Sorry the funks have you in a stranglehold, sweet Laurie. I will miss seeing you AND understand that this is one of the ways you cope. I’ve been virtually absent myself lately…only poling my head in once in awhile😉

    Know I will be thinking of you, sending warm hugs and positive, happy, healing vibes.
    ~Melanie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I wish the funks would funk off Melanie but it runs its own course. I will miss you also but I’ll be back in the new year. It’s the only way I can cope, withdrawal. I did notice your abscence, one has to take a break. thanks for the hugs and vibes.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi jenanita, you’d think after 42 years I’d have a handle on this but it appears not to be the case. Hopefully taking this stressor out of my life for a while will help. Taking care and thank you for your kind words.
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. davidprosser

    You know you’ll be missed Laurie but your health must come first. Remember I’ll be thinking of you and may drop a line from time to time.just to see how you’re doing.
    Take great care of yourself
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. nataliescarberry

    Oh, Sir L, I am so sorry to hear this. I’ll be praying and thinking about you. I will miss you terribly but I do understand. Please take care of yourself and know that I love you too. Wish there was something I could do to help. Much, much love and huge, huge hugs my friend, LMS❤❤❤ xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    Love you and want you to feel better. I’ll tell the chicklets and they will send soft peeps and chirps to warm your heart. I’m sorry this is happening to you and really, sending love and I’ll e mail, count on it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Gigi, I can feel the love in the air today. I’ll miss the chicklets and their parties, oh and the chirping. I’m feeling a bit sad about the whole thing too. You know how it is? Just when you think you have a handle on life, it falls off.🙂 Looking forward to hearing from you.
      Love
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Patrons of the Pit

    A tip of the hat to you, good sir, on your digital hiatus. I hope it isn’t forever tho. Your light shines too brightly in the blogosphere to be with out your kindly banter and keen wit, permanently. But yeah, do what you gotta do I guess. Thanks also for all your comments and help trying to learn me the ways of being a book maker. I do appreciate it.

    I won’t pretend to know how to fix a man’s whoa’s, but I suspect you’re taking the right coarse of action here, to unplug from the less important stuff for a while. I just read a good blog post, like two days ago, that explains why. It covered the topic of taking a break from shallow things of the digital world. The good it does for a person, just stepping back for a while. I ain’t saying it’s the answer for your stuff, but I just found it interesting. You might too. https://davidtripp.wordpress.com/2015/10/26/hamlets-blackberry/

    Take care, Mate!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      So good to hear from you potp. It shouldn’t be forever, I have so many good friends out here in the blogosphere. You’re welcome, I like to spread what knowledge I have, you really need to do that recipe book you know.🙂 I appreciate you adding the link, it will give me something to ponder I’m sure. Take care you blokes, keep smokin’ and cookin’ until I see you again in the new year.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. Owls and Orchids

    OMG Laurie, I’m so sorry. I’ve wasted so much time and not seen you. There are so many wonderful things you have brought to me through your kind words and wisdom over the year(s) – time flies – huh! The time spent talking with you and Rel have been highlights for me and I wish you well in every sense of the word. I’ll miss your somwtimes irreverent wit and charm, but I’m praying you will be okay and return to us soon. Heavens – I can’t believe how much I’ll miss my friend. Stay well, stay safe and see the sunshine again. Much Love Laurie, Susan❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan. No you haven’t wasted any time, you’ve been doing what you have to do. I’m glad to hear that I’ve helped you in some way over the years. I’ll be back, or should I do a General MacArthur? “I shall return!” Either way I don’t intend to disappear. PTSD is kind of like walking through a desert, laden down with stuff. With every step you throw things away. Then you feel lighter but when you turn around you find that among the things you’ve discarded are the very things that you need to survive. So you keep staggering on, not knowing where you’re heading. Suffering with a fuddled brain that just can’t comprehend that you fucked things up. The trouble is there are people strewn along that trail and that’s the really sad part. I know I’ll be safe, staying well is the hard part.
      Love you too Susan.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Owls and Orchids

        Complete understanding Laurie. I was diagnosed PTSD too but it takes someone to understand when the going gets rough. So glad you have Rel….. Heaven only knows where I’ll be. I’ll be thinking of you. ❤️ Susan

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Dina

    Dear Laurie,
    we’re very sorry to read that you problems have increased. Hopefully your break will help you to back on the right track and you’ll feel a lot better soon.
    You’re absolutely right, sometimes we just take on too much of all things to make us feel better. I had a 6 weeks break from blogging visiting the Alps, I found this most helpful to reload my own batteries.
    We will miss you, dear Laurie.
    Love,
    Dina, Klausbernd, Siri & Selma❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Dear Fab Four, thank you so much for your kind words. I can only imagine how uplifting 6 weeks in the Alps could be Klausbernd. I faltered about this time last year and came good after a couple of months, so I’ll see what the new year brings. I will miss you all.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ve given it a lot of thought over the last couple of weeks Bruce, and haven’t made the decision lightly. I’d rather be on here with a little vim and vigour, giving all the posts I visit the best of myself. Instead, except for a few I’ve been clicking like and leaving. The fun has gone out of it. Hopefully I’ll come to the right conclusion about my future in blogging.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  11. patgarcia

    Oh my dear Bro,
    I’m sorry to hear that the PTSD and the anxiety have increased in intensity. But I am relieved to know that you know what the symptoms are and know how to get them back in line so that you can function and come back better than ever.
    Don’t worry about the blogosphere. Those of us who love your work and receive so much joy from your talents will miss you but will also wait for you to come back.

    One of the many methods that I do when I recognized that I am getting depressed is I start writing a gratitude list. Sometimes I lose sight of what I have to be thankful for. So, I get up every morning and write in my dairy a thank you list, sometimes a long one and sometimes only a short one.

    Another thing I do is sneak away and have a coffee and observe people. Again, I usually have my iPad with me, because a thought will come up that I want to write down, or I’ll see someone or something that awake a memory and I’ll write it down.

    Another thing, Bro, is that I don’t usually try to avoid the people I trust. Sometimes it helps me just to know that they are there busy doing their thing even If I am not participating. I get a joy out of seeing them engaging in life.

    Being a writer and photographer drains. It is the same as with myself, a writer and a singer, and musician. Sometimes we have to step back. We go and continually do, not realizing that we are giving but not allowing ourselves to receive or to tank back up.

    So, I’ll be thinking of you in my prayers. Take the time to re-energize.
    And I look forward to your coming back stronger than ever.

    Shalom,
    Patti

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Sis for your wonderful reply. It’s taken a few weeks to come to this conclusion, mainly because I thought that I’d be letting the side down. I’ve been managing my symptoms to a degree, with Rel’s loving help but sometimes nothing works and ‘wham!’ So here I am. I try to think about all the things that I should be thankful for but somehow they just fade away. You have some great ideas and insights there Sis, Rel is making sure that I get out but I’m a crotchety old mule at times. I think we take on a lot of things to make us feel better, ie: writing, music, photos etc. Then it all comes crashing down around you. It comforts me to know that you’re thinking of me Sis and I do appreciate all that you’ve done for me.
      Love
      Bro.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  12. Lee Furlong

    V. L. (Lee) Furlong 3B, 16 Hughes Avenue Main Beach, QLD 4217 Mob: 0407 430 621 Ph: 07 5661 5747 Email: leefurlong@icloud.com Web: http://www.lspicecapsules.comt

    Hi Laurie,

    I am sorry you are feeling stressed…yes a break may well be very helpful Laurie. My heart goes out to you as I wish you well. Your news letter/blog has been wonderful and my family in the USA always have also greatly enjoyed your photo’s and stories.

    Remember too Laurie, we in the big wide world we love you too. Get better soon – enjoy life what ever you do in the future. We’ll always remember you.

    Cheers Mate Lee

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      G’day Lee, long time. thanks so much for the kind words and pass on my apologies to your family. I’m sure there’ll be a swag of offerings when I get back to the grind.🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  13. Patricia Salamone

    I will miss you Fratello, and your wonderful offerings. However you must do what is best for your health. I too suffer from anxiety, but not for such a brave reason. You have overcome so many obstacles and I know you will work this out. Keep safe and send my regards to Rel and the Roo’s. Hope to hear from you soon. You will be in my daily thoughts. xo
    Sorella

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ll miss you also Sorella. One has to step back sometimes and do what’s right for them. I know you understand. Rel says Hi and I’m sure there’s a Roo or two out there that would love to say Hi.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  14. teagan geneviene

    Dear Laurie… Your posts and photos delight me, and I so enjoy your comments. But believe me I understand completely. You have to do what is right for you. The world you see through your camera is so lovely that I hope you’ll keep taking photos, even if you don’t post them. It seems like a good thing to do — but only if it seems like it to you. 🙂 Mega hugs my friend. ❤ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks teagan, it’s good to know that my offerings bring pleasure. Photography is the one thing I don’t want to let go of, so I’ll try my best to keep it up. Absolutely huge hugs back at you.
      Laurie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

